Root Required Apps


Last Updated:

  1. Peji

    Peji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    What apps require root, since I rooted and flashed a rom/theme, th eonly root required apps I got were the Autokiller(set on moderate), Titanium Backup, Superuser thing, and overclock. Are there any other good root-required apps that I need, idk if I'm missing out on anything :p
     

    Advertisement
  2. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Go appbrain AND search for ROOT... :) . Should give you some list.

    And you are still in the arabic country (if I remember you correctly) . You could use market access to get paid apps. Dont forget ShootMe for screenshots.
    Maybe a Wireless Tether (for sharing your internet via wifi) or Root Explorer (DONT USE THIS, YOU WILL KILL YOUR PHONE!)

    Dont use autokiller, thats bad stuffs.. Go with autostarts and dont allow the stupid stuff to run on start anyway :D
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I agree. Especially if you're on 2.2, autokiller isn't doing you any favours.
     
  4. Peji

    Peji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    srsly? I saw auto killer in the "how to make your sparkly new rom faster" tread. And yeah, i'm still at saudi. And I'm runing on VillainRom 12 which is based on 2.1 I beleive but yeah...thanks for the advice.
     
  5. Peji

    Peji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just for confirmation, what's the full name of that app? autostart killer?
     
  6. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
  7. Peji

    Peji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ehh, didn't show up on my market, it's q paid app lol, anyother similar apps that r free?
     
  8. Peji

    Peji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    *bump* seriously, any alternatives?
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I think Autostart Killer does the same thing Atuostarts does but is free :)

    You have to donate to get the full set of features, but I think that's done through the dev's website, not the market.

    As for Autokiller, in my experience android 2.2 is handling apps & RAM well enough now that using autokiller is unnecessary. I can't tell the difference between standard 2.2 and autokiller on agressive. Plus, your apps are far less likely to be closed and lose their place (such as the pages you were viewing on the browser) with autokiller turned off.
     
  10. Peji

    Peji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm actually running on villainrom12 atm, I'm not really a fan of roms/firmwares without HTC sense so I still use a task manager. I really don't mind losing my place when I start an app. Thanks BTW, although I still see no way to stop MSN talk from auto starting :/
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Did you install atuostart killer? You should be able to just tap on the MSN app and it will stop it starting at boot.

    Some of them will then warn you that the app will constantly try to restart, in which case you'd need the donate version. I don't have that though, so I don't know how you purchase that.
     
  12. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Well for this is seriously the autostarts worth its money. Its not just on boot. On every possible occasion(new installed app, IM incoming, gps on, etc etc) it will show when the app starts to start and you can block the situation.

    I would show you normally this peji This is how I feel about buying apps - The Oatmeal

    but I suppose you dont have a credit card on your own. (Ask your dad :p)
     
  13. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I'm guessing the problem is that Peji is in a country without access to paid apps.
     
  14. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yeah Xyro I know he is. He should be now in Saudi Arabia. but I wrote him up about market access. So he knows how to purchase it :) (I think the problem is just the card :) )
     
  15. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Ah, cool :)

    Would you link me to your post about getting paid apps in any country? I don't know how it's done.
     
  16. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    1. Install this app. MarketAccess [AMIP now playing]

    2.
    Run the app and backup your current value
    [​IMG]

    3.
    Second tab choose provider (will show its in the currency I use mostly US)
    [​IMG]

    4.
    Go to your market and happy buying apps (I think it will ask you to accept the terms and conditions too. Do it)
    [​IMG]
    5.(optional) after buy restore the saved value. (I do this just in case :p)

    6. Oh and when you want to update the payed app, you have to do this again. If you dont it will say "Not found" . There is an option with set on boot but I dont use it.
    [​IMG]

    A side note: this can make the market "bugged" meaning sometimes you will see payed apps without the emulation but you wont be able to purchase them. Its not a big deal. Emulate and you can buy them. Or erase market data to fix the list. (Works also when you are missing apps in the download section)


     
    Xyro likes this.
  17. Peji

    Peji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually got a root app called Market Enabler yesterday lol I can see paid apps but yeah..I don't have a credit card on my own. I have a debit card but idk if that would work :p

    Thanks for all the advice you given me so far Nedamdam, and you too Xyro.

    Ps: Does debit card work on market.
     
  18. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Peji, debit or credit. (I have 2 debit cards and 1 credit card in accounts like these) It could work if the card can be used on purchases on the internet. Depends on what card it is. Usually the easiest way to find out is to try :) (or you could ask your bank).
    Mostly all embossed cards work :).


    Try to set up an account and put the card in here https://checkout.google.com/main USE the same account as you use on your hero! If it goes well will cost you a dollar.

    And I hope you have internet banking(if not and your card can be used for internet payments, you will have to go to your bank and ask them for the code) cuz I think you will have to confirm the 1 dollar charge with some code they will send you in it. (Was looong ago so not sure now :p)
     
  19. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I use my debit card in the UK. Be warned though, you may be charged a conversion rate for every purchase in a foreign currency. That's what my bank do. Sometimes it even costs more than the app it's self (
     
  20. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Stupid banks... I pay monthly just for the account 7€ ... And they charge me almost everything .... But this conversion I luckily didn't see :p

    Anyway Peji. Try it :)
     
  21. Peji

    Peji Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tbh, the only paid apps I wanted are Fifa 10(apparently it gets stuck on 4% on Hero so that's probably a blow out(still wondering about this)) and the autostarts thing. I'll try it out ofc but I'll need to set up the account. I have 2 debit cards as well but I only use them if I take permission from my parents, but anything less than 10 pounds wouldnt hurt i guess lol Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...