• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Root terms defined - ROM, Shell, S-ON, etc.

I'm a newbie (AKA noobie). Got my Precedent in the middle of Oct. 2011. i was totally new to Android. I thought I was a little bit of a geek, but I couldn't comprehend what looked like gibberish in forum posts about rooting.

I'm sure there are and will be many more Precedent users who are new to the "Droid." I started this thread to help you.

I quickly found that I would need to "root" my phone to get the most out of it. But, I still did not fully understand ROMS, shell, NAND locked, flash, etc. I wished I could find simple, I mean a REALLY SIMPLE, set of definitions.

I finally did, thanks to Nomorefear. I took his list and modified it for new (noobie) Samsung Galaxy Precedent users. I've put a link at the end of this post to Nomorefear's post. Please note that his post has some items specifically for the Optimus phone - you will screw up your Precedent if you use those files/methods. That is the only reason I'm not just giving a link to his good info.

Again, full credit to Nomorefear, I'm not plagiarizing (stealing) his stuff.

Here goes:

"1- Dictionary

ADB- Android Developers Bridge: The program used to talk to your phone and give it commands (USE IT ONLY IF YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE LEARNING)

Root/Rooting- Getting the administrative control i.e, "hacking", "jailbreak", etc, etc...... Root is also defined as the base folder of your SD card. If you are told to place a file into root then this is what is meant. REMEMBER-root/rooting-admin control OR base folder on SD card. Please re read instructions you find in the forums throughly so that you may be able to save yourself some time and heartache.

Superuser- program which gives authority for another program to have Root access. Program examples are "setcpu", "terminal emulator", "auto killer memory optimizer"