.... Root troubles (10 minute video made it look so easy)

Last Updated:

1. Hobo

Hobo Member This Topic's Starter

I'm a noob. lets get that out. ive followed step by step on the 10 minute video gone through it and i still can't get root, seams like i always get stuck at finding the device via cmd prompt. i went through two 2gb sandisk sd cards. and 1 pny 2gb card. ive tried every method including the click in click out the sd card. no luck. if someone can please tell me where im going wrong.

ive tried airplane mode
    disabled and enabled usb debugging
    reformated my sd cards
    running W7 64 bit
    ran cmd prompt in admin

im moving in a few weeks and i really need to get this thing rooted so i can *cough* wifi tether *cough* ehm...

please help

tomakwok@gmail.com
    hoboboxfun@hotmail.com
    or reply to post

Advertisement
  2. crimton

crimton Well-Known Member

if you've already got the 2gb pny then thats one thing down, now make sure you have the correct drivers. make sure in device manager your phone is recognized, ignore where he says use htc sync i uninstalled it. i used the pdanet drivers along with the modified android drivers found on this forum. then the sd in and out method worked almost right away

3. mechinn

mechinn New Member

4. Hobo

Thanks guys. ive tried both of those. i already had pdanet installed since day one. i uninstalled and reinstalled htc sync. ive also done the click in click out deal on the card. ill try it with htc sync uninstalled.

ehh.... just did it.. same problems..

5. Hobo

oh goody another problem...

also all the other files to push won't because of permission denied.. >.>

6. Hanneman1011

Hanneman1011 Well-Known Member

@Hobo Try running the 1.bat file again and starting over. Sounds like the su didn't go through. I think that is why you are getting denied, Superuser is not allowing you to.

7. whewstoosae

whewstoosae Well-Known Member