root wont work on samsung captivate

Last Updated:

1. uscgambrose

uscgambrose Member This Topic's Starter

I tried to root my phone and i do everything to the tee to root my phone and it says everytime i reinstall packages a error.. it wont reinstall.. does anyone have a idea whats wrong or anything i can do to fix this!! I really want to root my phone so i can make it a router!!

Advertisement
  2. RO3

RO3 Active Member

What method are you using to root? In most cases, you have to make sure that whatever package you are using is copied to the internal sd card, and the downloaded package should be renamed or named update.zip

3. uscgambrose

not to sure what you mean my packages. I just download whatever the sites tell me to download and nothing works. it alway says there is a error when i try to reinstall packages. Im very new to this, even the one click root dont work with mine.

4. LordHumongouz

LordHumongouz Banned

Does your 3-button Recovery Mode work?

I can never see the single user boot screen or digging Droid.

5. peachpuff

peachpuff Well-Known Member

Did you rename the zip file to update.zip and place it in the root dir of the sd card?

6. CrimsonPride

CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

7. uscgambrose

place it in the root dir of the sd card? what does that mean.. go step by step what to do.. i am a complete ****** when it comes to this.. i just know it wont let me do it.. when i reboot it, it says a error has happened and it wont reinstall package!!

8. peachpuff

peachpuff Well-Known Member

j:\ <- thats the root dir of your sd card if its the j: drive, place it there, it can't get any easier than that.

9. RO3

RO3 Active Member