rooted 2.1 trying to get the 2.2 OTA update


Last Updated:

  1. sleekmr3

    sleekmr3 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a rooted 2.1 yesterday i started receiving the OTA 2.2 message. I have been ignoring it so that I could go home and unroot/downgrade so that I can apply the 2.2 ota. Well I downgraded last night and the OTA was not available anymore.

    Is this normal?

    So I rooted my phone again and now the OTA is back. What gives?
     

    Advertisement
  2. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    41
    try manually installing :)
     
  3. dsb9938

    dsb9938 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    82
  4. rajivm

    rajivm New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. zmanzbo

    zmanzbo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. EricS96521

    EricS96521 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Follow the link dsb9938 posted and do what it says. If you try to update to 2.2 and you get an installation aborted, then you need the may OTA update. Apply it and everything should work fine.

    If update.zip cannot be found, format your sd card to FAT32 and it will work.
     
  7. zmanzbo

    zmanzbo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya thats what I thought. Never heard of anyone successfully updating w/o being on may update.

    Was curious if he actually got it to work.

    Really not looking forward to wiping my phone and am looking for a workaround but don't think there is one.
     
  8. EricS96521

    EricS96521 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    3
    When I did mine I had to wipe my phone so I did a screen capture of all my screens set up the way I wanted, contacts, etc. Then I updated and then looked at the screens on my computer to figure out how I had everything set up/what apps I had. Takes no more than 15-20 minutes to set the phone up like it was previously/add contacts back in.
     
  9. Blacryan

    Blacryan Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I followed the steps on the link. When I boot up it gets past the HTC quietly brilliant goes to the droid eye then after the 2 red balls go back and forth the second time the phone just sits and freezes there. what did I do wrong?
     
  10. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    ....wait longer... It takes a couple minutes to boot up...up to 10 sometimes
     

Share This Page

Loading...