Rooted 2.2 and 2 days later no 3G dataSupport


Last Updated:

  1. KonaZXIII

    KonaZXIII Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    I've disabled Juice Defender completely, removed 3G Watchdog altogether, and I can't get a 3G stream. No apps will connect, nor can I send MMS.

    The one that may have something to do with it is I restored/removed Adfree this morning. It was soon after that that 3G connectivity went south. I've rebooted a couple of times with no luck.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Go here:

    Menu -> Settings -> Wireless and network -> Mobile networks

    For each, select it and tell us what it says:
    Access Point Names
    Network operators
     
  3. KonaZXIII

    KonaZXIII Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    Access Point Names - ATT WAP (wap.cingular). There is nothing else to choose from.

    Network operators - Default setup. Clicking on it is blocked.
     
  4. KonaZXIII

    KonaZXIII Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ok, so, I ended up deleting JuiceDefender and a couple other of my most recently downloaded apps and did a restart.

    Everything is ok so far. I put JD back on- we'll see what happens.
     
  5. thomascarolan

    thomascarolan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this exact problem.... I unrooted, then I did a factory reset... nothing working still.

    I can't get an internet connection without being on wifi. No 3G action going on. Not receiving any text messages. Email inbox not updating...


    Please help!!
     
  6. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Did you install anything that might have fiddled with your APN settings? APNdroid, Quick Settings, etc?

    Do you have DroidWall installed?
     
  7. thomascarolan

    thomascarolan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't installed any of those mentioned apps... nothing that would have messed with the APN settings i dont think.

    No Droidwall.

    Should I try and flash back to stock? Could clearing my SDcard help?
     
  8. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Only if you understand that it's not really back to "stock" and it might prevent some things from ever working again, like OTA updates.

    Probably not.

    Obviously something's being missed here. Maybe a full rundown of the history of the phone, what you've ever done to it, installed on it (even if it's uninstalled now) and what's currently installed.
     
  9. thomascarolan

    thomascarolan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    About Phone:
    Firmware Version : 2.2
    Baseband Version: I897UCJI6
    Kernel Version: 2.6.32.9
    jetaek.lee@sep-11#1
    Build number: FROYO.UCJI6

    Status:
    network: AT&T
    signal strength: -65dbm 25asu
    mobile network type: HSDPA
    service state: in service
    roaming: not roaming
    mobile network state: disconnected

    Wireless and network:
    -Mobile networks:
    - Access point names: ATT WAP wap.cingular (i have it checked)

    When i select the WAP
     
  10. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    I didn't catch it in the subject before but what you posted just made it obvious. You've put a 2.2 ROM on.

    I'm not clear from what you're saying about which hacked 2.2 ROM you installed. There are dozens, none official. All have some issues, which vary from ROM to ROM.
     
  11. thomascarolan

    thomascarolan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nevermind..... att reset my service and everything started working again... thanks for the help though
     
  12. gary1949

    gary1949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    16
    This short thread (11 posts) is an excellent example of why a few of us are hesitant about rooting our phones and attempting to get froyo earlier than Samsung & AT&T want us to.

    In this thread the two phones that were rooted both had problems that were eventually cleared up, but I imagine were a bit scary for the owners for a bit of time. :eek:

    I've been tempted to trot over to XDA, but I don't need the excitement of trying to fix problems with help from the forums, or worse yet - my local AT&T Premier store. Guess I'll wait a while longer. At least if the official update (assuming we'll eventually get it) bricks or damages my phone, I'll get a new one from AT&T. And since I purchased a new phone I wouldn't accept a used (refurbed) one in exchange.
     

Share This Page

Loading...