Rooted 2.2 update w/UnrEVOked3, I think....

Last Updated:

1. williamhereford

williamhereford Active Member This Topic's Starter

So I am pretty sure I was able to update and keep root. I say pretty sure because I am a novice and my only way to confirm was opening Wifi tether and TI Backup (which I just downloaded)both opened with the SU permissions Y/N screen and with a Y did their thing. No Internet with Wifi Tether though. Not sure if this is a root thing or an app in need of an update.

So What I did was got these guys here:

HTC OTA Froyo 2.2, *FINAL*, build 3.36.651.6 (Rooted) Odexed - xda-developers

1:I first put the 4g zip on my SD. I dragged it over to the top level. ejected USB let it "format SD" then turned off the phone. Powered it up W/ volume down giving boot menu.

1a:In the white screen Volume down to Recovery. Hit Power button.

2: In the Black ClockworkMod screen volume down to install zip from SD, Select this. it will bring up a new set of options.
    3:Volume down to Choose zip from SD, power button to select.
    4:volume down through all the no's to
    Yes - Install______.zip (this zip will be either the 4g, or radio one) hit the power button to select.
    5:Let it run you will see some text over the android jumping out of the box. Then at the bottom of text it will say reboot.
    6: Volume button to the option to go back a menu (or main menu I forgot to write it down)
    7: toggle volume to Reboot and tap the power button to select.

the Phone will do its normal power up. Load onto your SD the other radio/4g zip. Repeat the previous steps.

once this is done Simply rename that long Froyo file name to update. remember that if you type .zip (w/ extensions hidden) it will repeat it on the card and not work.

This time at step 2 just select load/install update.zip