rooted and can't install rom


Last Updated:

  1. Floridroid

    Floridroid New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok just to start yes I have done a lot of research and just not starting a new thread cause Im lazy. I rooted my phone yesterday and everything went pretty smooth. Did a simple nandroid backup too. Installed setcpu and both version of rom manager. Here is the problem. everythime I try to run clockworkmod manager I get this error "An error occured while attempting to run privileged commands" I did download a cyanogen rom but nothing. Can't reboot in recovery either.

    When I go to setcpu in in read only mode and can't change anything. it says "no root access detected are application have permissions?"

    Ans last, When I open superuser permissions, Screen is black and can't see nothing. is this normal?

    Please help
     

    Advertisement
  2. snt

    snt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    It sounds as if you are not rooted. Those applications will ask for root permissions and/or warn you about it if you are in fact rooted.

    -SNT
     
  3. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    It sounds like you aren't rooted, but there have been problems with the latest clockwork recovery. I would try to install an older version and see if that helps.
     
  4. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    Perhaps you might have just installed SP Recovery and not actually rooted. Getting new recovery software is the first step, but you then have to flash a root .zip to actually be rooted.

    As others have said, it sounds like you don't actually have root access.
     
  5. Floridroid

    Floridroid New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the superuser icon but is there suppose to be anything in the screen when you open it?

    I installed the sbf file with rsd lite and installed sbrecovery. dide a simple nandroid backup.
    installed setcpu. rom manager the 2 versions.
    What else id there to do after?
    I thought that was the way to root it with the sbrecovery file.

    I have dona a lot of research and look at youtube videos for hours before i tried anything.

    should I unroot and start again?
     
  6. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    You're not rooted yet. There is an update.zip that you would need to install in order to achieve root. You have two options:

    1. Find the update.zip that OMJ has in the all roots section and install

    2. Take whatever file you already downloaded and put it on the root of your sd card and rename it update.zip. Reboot into recovery click on allow update.zip and then install update.zip.


    OMJ's update.zip can be found here
     
  7. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Try flashing to SBRrecovery (second to bottom option). Rebooting and flashing back into clockwork. I think this is a known bug.
     
  8. Floridroid

    Floridroid New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flashing didnt work. I got the warning of the rooting and chose the option to root. if i open dm uploader it tells me that my phone is rooted but do not have permission.

    here is more info
    Ok just to start yes I have done a lot of research and just not starting a new thread cause Im lazy. I rooted my phone yesterday and everything went pretty smooth. Did a simple nandroid backup too. Installed setcpu and both version of rom manager. Here is the problem. everythime I try to run clockworkmod manager I get this error "An error occured while attempting to run privileged commands" I did download a cyanogen rom but nothing. Can't reboot in recovery either.

    When I go to setcpu in in read only mode and can't change anything. it says "no root access detected are application have permissions?"

    Ans last, When I open superuser permissions, Screen is black and can't see nothing. is this normal?

    I wiped all data to factory and still nothing after re installing all apps.

    Setcpu is in read only mode message is "No root access detected are application have access to root? operating on read only mode.

    If I try dm uploader message is " looks like your phone is rooted, but you have not given DM updater access yet. you *must * check the reminder box! (I never seen the box)
     
  9. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    Find the cyanogen rom and put it on the root of your sd card. Rename it update.zip. Power down the phone then power up the phone while holding x on the keyboard. You can let go of the power button but continue to hold x until you are in recovery. Then install the update.zip. If you can't get into recovery then you will need to reflash recovery.
     
  10. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    Do this ^^^

    DM updater only works for 2.0.1 as far as I know.
     
  11. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    He is having trouble booting into recovery. You can boot into recovery by turning off the phone and holding the letter X and then hitting power. Hold in both buttons until you boot into recovery, then install the update.zip.
     
  12. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    If you read his posts you would know that he is not rooted yet and so he can't use ROM manager.
     
  13. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825


    If you are able to boot into recovery the above is the best option. Like everyone said hold x while powering on the phone to get into recovery.


    If you cant get into recovery you are going to have to reflash the SPRecovery sbf file to get recovery back. Then after you do that follow the above steps and you will be good to go.
     
  14. Floridroid

    Floridroid New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ok Got it man. Sorry for my ignorance but Im a noob but been working hard by myself (with all of you of course) looks like it works now.

    Thanks everyone
     
  15. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Yea I realized that after I wrote it, but he can't install the update.zip without being able to boot into recovery. So I gave him the manual way to do it. althoug now I see someone else had mentioned that before.
     
  16. Tankmania

    Tankmania New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, my first post so please excuse my ignorance !

    I have a Galaxy S2 i9100, I rooted it using SuperOneClick, and have CWM 4.0.0.2 and Siyah Kernel 2.4.1 flashed using odin.

    I backed up my phone via Titanium etc, and wiped caches etc via CWM. However when I attempt to load a new ROM via 'install zip from sd card' (the latest MIUI rom at the time of writing), or another one (both which have been saved in the root of the SD card as zips), the phone does not install them, instead displaying a few lines of messages basically saying it cannot install the and the installation is aborted.

    I get the feeling from reading other forums the CWM version may not be compatible etc.

    Please help !

    Many thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...