Rooted, flashed Baked Snack 1.6, now how do I return to stock?


Last Updated:

  1. ACEinthehole

    ACEinthehole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    5
    I found this thread... [How To] Return to Stock / Fix Bricked Epic - xda-developers

    Tried to get started but the link to the Odin program isn't active or isn't working.

    Can anyone provide step by step directions for me? With hyperlinks to downloads?

    I am a NOOB and don't really know how I got Baked Snack. It's really a pretty sweet ROM but I'd like to go back to stock soon so that I can get the OTA Froyo update when it is officially released.

    All of this stuff scares me but it really is awesome at the same time!
     

    Advertisement
  2. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    Why not just flash a stock Froyo Rom?
     
  3. ACEinthehole

    ACEinthehole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's too far out for me man. I can't believe I flashed Baked Snack... I am a total NOOB.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Where did you have problems at?

    Sorry... I'm a bit under the weather today so excuse me if I feel or sound "out of it."


    Edit: Do you want to return to 100% stock (as in out of the box new) or just to the "stock" software but keep root access?
     
  5. ACEinthehole

    ACEinthehole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    5
    100% stock
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    To go 100% stock (i.e. lose root access and essentially new out of box):

    Download THIS and extract it to the desktop of your PC using Winrar (free from HERE).

    Next, download THIS huge file. Do NOT do anything else with this file for now.

    - From the FIRST .rar file that you extracted, double click on Odin.exe from the computer to open it.
    - Pull battery from phone and disconnect from pc
    - Put in battery (DO NOT TURN ON) and push and hold 1 and power to put phone in downloader mode (android guy digging).
    - Connect to pc
    - Make sure the ID:Com box is yellow and says (com xxx).
    - In odin, under pda, browse for the .md5 file that you downloaded already and select it.
    - Hit start.
     
  7. ACEinthehole

    ACEinthehole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm now back 100% stock... thanks to Kelmar's assistance!
     
  8. ACEinthehole

    ACEinthehole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    5
    Please read the entire guide before you start.
    Notice the nice picture at the bottom that shows you how to do anything you might be unsure about.

    Step 1. Download and extract Odin, my new most favorite wonder utility.
    Link

    Step 2. Download the latest stock Epic Files (Source).
    Link

    Step 3. Download the .pit
    Link

    Step 4. Disconnect your phone from the pc and open Odin

    Step 5. Turn off your phone. Then hold the "1" key on your keyboard while powering the device on. This puts the phone into Download mode. (PS love the pic of the cleaning android)

    Step 6. Connect your phone (you should see Odin put a Com4 or something like that in the first box. The actual number is NOT important what is important is something popped up there when you connected your device, meaning ODIN can see it)

    Step 7. In the right half of Odin, press the PIT button, and select your .pit file.

    Step 8. Check the PDA box, and press the PDA button. Select the SPH-D700-DG27-8Gb-REL.tar you downloaded in Step 2.

    Step 9. In the left half of Odin, check only the "Auto Reboot" and "Debug En" boxes. Make sure everything else is unchecked.

    Step 10. Hit start. Watch the progress bar, and wait for it to finish.
     
  9. cary328is

    cary328is Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    427
    Two questions:

    In step 7, you mention using the PIT file, but I've seen that if you have the tar you don't need to use a pit file (Kelmar's instructions left out the pit file?) Is this true?

    In step 8 you listed "DG27" instead of "DI18". Does that mean you have to flash all the way back to DG27 instead of using the DI18 tar file?
     
  10. ACEinthehole

    ACEinthehole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    5
    The directions that I posted worked for me. And I believe I used DG27 and allowed the OTA's to get me back to DI18, which happend within 2 minutes of being booted up. It's really easy to flash back.
     
  11. cary328is

    cary328is Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    427
    Excellent. Thank you for the correction! I successfully flashed back to DG27 and let the OTA update me as well. I was having problems because I downloaded a corrupted version of the DG27. Also, I didn't use the pit file. It worked fine without it. Thanks for the information and help
     
  12. Droid_Rage

    Droid_Rage Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dumb question, but I'm new to the game. Will this wipe the phone completely... I'm assuming so if you say it's like "new out of the box". Is there a way to jump back to DI18, just like I jumped to DK28 without losing any settings?

    I manually updated to FroYo on what I thought was the official release, and now I'm contemplating going back and waiting for the official OTA. I put all of the apps that I could on the SD, so hopefully that wouldn't be too much of a PITA to get back to where I was (resetting wallpapers, redownloading Launcher Pro, etc). Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  13. ACEinthehole

    ACEinthehole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    5
    You will have to add back your home screen widgets. This will flash it back to stock, then you'll get 2 OTA updates to go back to DI18. If your contacts are saved via gmail then you're fine. It's really a simple process.

    I'm now running Quantum 2.0 ROM based on DK28 and it is flawless. I've found nothing wrong with it at all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...