Rooted N1 vs. Rooted Incredible


Last Updated:

  1. MushroomStamp

    MushroomStamp Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm a VZW subscriber. I currently use a Storm 2 (HATE IT). I have been waiting... and waiting for the N1. I have a friend that works in the higher ups of VZW (not retail). I was just giving him shit the other day about the N1 situation. He said, "you should just get the Incredible it has slight better specs and the optical mouse.". I then told him my dislike for Sense UI. He said, "well then just root it"...

    So that got me thinking.

    Would there be any difference between a rooted N1 and a rooted Incredible? Wouldn't they then have the exact same OS?? (Provided I was going to flash it with Cyanogen). Thusly I would have the same phone with better specs, if I got the Inc over the N1. Is this flawed thinking?

    Since the N1 is Googles phone and gets updates first. When you root and flash with a diff ROM, do you then not get updates? I'm guessing you would be reliant on the updates to that ROM which ever MOD you choose.

    I am new to rooting so don't fully understand consequences, but does this sound logical to you guys/gals???

    Oh.. I would lose the ability for the pretty colored ball if I went for the Inc, and I really like a flashy ball :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    no they'd be close but you would need to use a ROM made specifically for the incredible, and if you don't like sense UI i always thought you could just use "normal home" or whatever, my friends hero does this he can switch between sense and normal
     
  3. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Force close Sense and let launcher be the default home. Simples.
     
  4. MushroomStamp

    MushroomStamp Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    but if you root, do you still get updates? If the Inc is really underclocked to 768mhz as rumored... this makes it a no brainer for me, unless software can reinstate back to 1ghz
     
  5. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    If you root it, (which will take time to find a hack but it'll probably happen), They will definitely be able to overclock it to 1Ghz since it's a snapdragon processor that is supposed to run at 1Ghz but they down clocked it for they're dumb reason... :rolleyes:
     
  6. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    If you root and stay with the stock ROM, yes, you'll get official updates when they show up. If you root and flash a custom ROM, bye-bye official updates.
     
  7. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    Not all roms disable autoupdates, fyi. However it is preferable to do so because an update could unintentionally mess with one of the roms custom settings/ features.
     
  8. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    well if you've rooted and installed a custom ROM, you probably wouldn't want the OTA update, since you'd essentially be going back to a stock ROM, not to mention you'd most likely have the feature of the next OTA ROM already on your device if you're staying current with the custom ROM releases... :D
     
  9. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    It's probably a battery life issue.
     
  10. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    Probably, but I hate when they do that.. My Droid ran at 550 Mhz (stock) got 15 - 16 hours maybe. And now I run it consistently at 600 with a max of 1.2Ghz, and get battery life of 14 hours. They always do that to push out the extra hour. Just give people what they want...SPEEEEDDDDDDD!
     

Share This Page

Loading...