• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Rooted S3/Backup/Reset Questions...SCH-I535

Mar 1, 2015
UT
Ok, noob here. I have a Galaxy S3 my old roommate gave to me a while ago. It is rooted, and I never did any factory reset or anything on it when I got it, I just started using it as it was. This is my first Android device, so I don't know exactly how to do a lot of the cool stuff. Now, my question is: what steps would I have to follow in order to reset the phone (and does that get rid of any settings/passwords etc SHE put on it?)? I've done a backup of photos/music/contacts, etc so that's not a problem. I am wanting to reset it for many reasons (old stuff from an old roommate whom I don't speak to, phone is slow, etc) but I'm not sure what to do from here. I also don't want to screw up the phone, because I cannot afford another one. I'm interested in hearing what people like the best (ROM, recovery, all that fun stuff) and possibly a quick how-to, since I'm new to Android for the most part. I don't necessarily need someone to hold my hand but a little help would be fabulous ;) I'm not too sure what info about my phone I should add, so if someone is kind enough to help me out, I will provide whatever necessary. Thanks in advance!!

P.S. I should also add that the phone is originally Verizon, but as I said, my old roommate rooted it and I'm currently using it with Cricket Wireless. Not sure if that affects anything.

Last edited:
Hi MulishaMommy444, welcome to Android forums.
Factory reset is fine. You should reset it and sign in with your own google account (gmail) .
A factory reset will wipe all user data, including any apps that are not system apps.
It will be like turning on a new device. But of course will still be rooted. I'm not sure about Roms for that s3, because I have the sprint model (very different). You might want to check in the Verizon root subforum. Good luck!

Last edited:
Upvote 0