Rooters and devs?


Last Updated:

  1. Weudel

    Weudel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    So, I ordered my Continuum yesterday and have since been scouring the web for any rooters or devs who are supporting this thing. I would love to see what a custom ROM could do with that Ticker... Do we have a verified root and is anyone developing ROMS?
     

    Advertisement
  2. dfgged

    dfgged Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    So far, I've only seen 1 person that is over at the droid forums that has a rooted continuum. I've been trying to root but it's nothing like an original droid. :(
     
  3. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    im sure at some point some dev will acquire the contiuum or one of the fascinate devs may port stuff....but really this phone was kinda doa from the start dev wise

    its too similar to the fascinate that anyone who isnt in love with the ticker thing to really go after it...especially with so many $1 fascinate offers or bogo recently.

    im not dissing the device, just seems no reason for the devs to jump on
     
  4. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    yeah, give it some time. other than custom roms, we can use everything the fascinate can use.
    i rooted mine via the fascinate adb method. but, the easiest way is z4root. so far, overclock kernels and such seem to work as well. however, dont go too crazy, because the files dont exist to flash the phone back to stock if something goes terribly wrong (yet...)

    tried flashing the fascinate clockwork to the continuum... doesnt work. it installs just fine, but wont boot into recovery. :/
     
  5. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    you have successfully booted the continuum using fascinate kernels? just curious as that seems to be the indication, but without clockwork recovery that seems a daunting adb task
     
  6. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    no, it worked the first time i flashed it, and installed the kernels that way the first time. but, i dropped it and broke the screen, so i got another one (i work for verizon), and this one wont boot into recovery. i havent yet figured out how to flash a kernel without clockwork.

    with the new one, i tried to boot into recovery yesterday, and it says something about an update from Verizon, then it says "update failed" and reboots.
     
  7. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    so fascinate kernels and fascinate clockwork recovery all work on the continuum then?..or at least did on your first one
     
  8. Weudel

    Weudel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    Easily rooted with Z4 Root from the Market. Until we have some ROMS there's not much use in going further with it. I have SU permissions. Can take screenshots, overclock, etc.
     
  9. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    well you cant overclock without custom kernels that have to be flashed in clockwork recovery
     
  10. thenicole84

    thenicole84 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I managed to brick mine four days after I bought it, so back to the ol' droid, while I wait for someone to post the stock roms. I need to flash back to stock SO BADLY.
     
  11. Weudel

    Weudel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    How did you brick it? Do you have a working recovery loaded?
     
  12. thenicole84

    thenicole84 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a really long and complicated story, but basically did a combination of choosing the wrong files to remove with titanium backup, losing the launcher, installing a different one(which worked for a few days until I decided I wanted TW back), and having the hairbrained idea that the fascinate apk's and odex files would pretty much be the same, and attempting to install those.

    I don't have a working recovery loaded, and ended up adding a fourth line to our phone plan to spread the pain of another phone over the next two years. It hurts!

    Anyway, I'm on a fascinate now, and both me and the hubby(software geeeeeeeeeeek) are trying different ideas on the continuum.

    Thankfully, the fascinate forums are AWESOME about how to fix problems--I had something go wrong with the voodoo kernal, where it wouldn't allow me to download anything in the android market, and I was able to get myself back to a stock kernal for now with very little effort.
     

Share This Page

Loading...