Rooting 101 ??

Last Updated:

1. oOMavrikOo

oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I really want to root my Hero. The problem is that I'm not experienced enough to try something like that. I'm afraid that I'll screw something up in the programming and ruin my brand new phone. So, my question is... Should I try rooting based on Youtube videos and forum advice, or should I just leave it alone and keep the phone the way it is? I really want to get rid of the stock bloatware on the phone. What should I do?

Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

3. LBPHeretic

LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

I too am in the process of researching rooting. I feel I have learned a lot in the last week or so by reading this forum (and XDA), Googling information, and watching YouTube videos. Up until my friend rooted his Sprint HTC Hero, I still had a lot of reservations about doing it. Now, I am getting closer and closer to feeling 100% comfortable with the whole process.

I have been pretty happy with my stock Android 2.1 Sprint HTC Hero. I got it back in February when it was still on Android 1.5 and the update process, for me, was fairly painless. I think if you feel comfortable with your handset for a while in its current form, then rooting it will just be the next natural and progressive step in its ownership by you. As Kelmar said, do lots of research first.

4. JD_from_da_80s

JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member

Took me like 3 months to decide to root & it took me like 1 hour to root it. Would have took me about 30 minutes but I didn't have enough space on my memory card so I had to search for a new one.

I read this & watched this video while rooting. (XDA site seems to be down now but you can find instructions on this site) As long as you follow the instructions & make sure you have at least 100 mb of space on your SD card (don't need that much but better safe than sorry) you should be fine. And if you get lost, ask questions.

5. Linoleum