• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Rooting a sm-g900 from Verizon

Ek148

Lurker
Oct 4, 2016
Hi everyone! I've been living under a rock so I didn't even know what rooting was until very recently. But I'm very new at this and my phone is about 2 years old. How do I go about this? Here are my phone specs

1. Manufacturer - Samsung
2. Model - (SM-G900V)
3. Software version - (6.0.1)
4. Kernel version - 3.4.0
5. Build number - MMB29M.G900VVRU2DPF4

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hi everyone! I've been living under a rock so I didn't even know what rooting was until very recently. But I'm very new at this and my phone is about 2 years old. How do I go about this? Here are my phone specs

1. Manufacturer - Samsung
2. Model - (SM-G900V)
3. Software version - (6.0.1)
4. Kernel version - 3.4.0
5. Build number - MMB29M.G900VVRU2DPF4

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hello and welcome to Android Forums Ek148!

I am afraid that the carrier minority variant, G900V, of the Galaxy S5 for Verizon, on Marshmallow, Android 6.0.1, is, at present, unrootable. Hopefully, a root exploit such as the one used on Lollipop, here, may be found in time. It is not possible to downgrade to Lollipop from Marshmallow to use that exploit. See, also, #1.6 of 42 Galaxy S5 models - Dummies Guide

Reactions: Mikestony
Upvote 0
Hello and welcome to Android Forums Ek148!

I am afraid that the carrier minority variant, G900V, of the Galaxy S5 for Verizon, on Marshmallow, Android 6.0.1, is, at present, unrootable. Hopefully, a root exploit such as the one used on Lollipop, here, may be found in time. It is not possible to downgrade to Lollipop from Marshmallow to use that exploit. See, also, #1.6 of 42 Galaxy S5 models - Dummies Guide

Awww shucks :(. There's no way to downgrade to a previous version that was rootable?

Upvote 0