• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Rooting Element for idiots

ghost25

Lurker
Jun 12, 2011
Hey guys, got a question here. Before I go any further please note that I've been Googling for the last 3 months trying to figure this out and, while I've found plenty of resources, nothing I've found has actually worked for me. Maybe there's something I'm just not getting... I don't know.

I've got a Pantech Element running Android 4.0.4 and I downloaded the following packages (I believe I extracted them to the correct location, but maybe not; this is exactly why I don't like Windows!):

p4100-tun
Superuser-3.0.7-efghi-signed
element-pkg
cwm5.0.2.7-pororo
(I may have more packages but can't think right now, please bear with me)

I've been fighting this issue for quite a while but maybe this is because Windows has such a different structure compared to Linux. I've gotten ADB figured out and have rebooted the Element through CMD a few times, and have also played around with the recovery screen a bit, but no matter what I do, the most I can do is clear my cache, format cards, etc. I can't seem to load the Superuser stuff at all.

I want to root this thing because while I have a good sized microSD card, I can't seem to install anything to it. I don't use this for music or pictures, it's more of a device to use between my laptop or my phone, but I constantly am running out of space due to certain programs like Google default etc constantly updating. I don't use Google Magazines or whatever, and want to pull them, but can't figure out how. They also automatically try to update even with me specifying not to.