Rooting Eris for Wireless Tethering


Last Updated:

  1. ridewithme38

    ridewithme38 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok i'm out of ideas...

    I tried wireless Tethering via Bluetooth with the PDANet App and it was an utter failure...i'd get a connection but it was up and down every 5-10 minutes...I can get a solid connection when tethering over USB with PDAnet...But that sucks as it only seems to work with the Charging cable that came with the Eris and not the HUNDREDS of other usb cables i have laying around....

    So everyone said...'ROOT!' Its easy to wirelessly Tether when you 'Root!'
    you can even use your phone as a hotspot...

    So i thought 'Cool, i'd really like to be able to use it as a hotspot!'

    I used this rooting system http://androidforums.com/eris-all-t...is-app-apk-no-pcs-no-scripts-needed-easy.html

    Noted i now have a new app called 'SuperUser Permission'

    Downloaded 'Wireless Tether' from the App store...Set all Permissions on the phone

    my Netbook detects NOTHING!!!

    WTF am i doing wrong? It still works under pdanet...ALL i care about is using my phone as a Wireless/wifi hotspot, thats it!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Welcome to Android Forums, and to the Eris forums, ridewithme.

    Have you flashed a custom ROM since rooting?

    Once you do, grab the wireless_tether_1_70-pre2_htc.apk from:

    http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/downloads/list?can=2&q=HTC+Donut

    being sure to have "unknown sources" allowed in menu > settings > applications > unknown sources checkbox.

    Always allow the SU whitelist, which will pop up when you use the app.
     
  3. ridewithme38

    ridewithme38 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah...maybe thats the problem? I haven't flashed a custom ROM yet...I have 'unkown sources' enabled and i have that app installed and allowed it root access...but when i turn on the app...Nothing shows on Windows XP on my Acer Aspire one D250-1165

    Where would the connection show up? Under "Wireless networks" or under my bluetooth connections?

    I've searched both and haven't found any new connections under 'Wireless networks' or bluetooth connections
     
  4. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    68
    You shouldn't need to have a custom ROM to use wireless tether.

    This is going to seem like a stupid question, but did you open the app and select "press to start tethering"? It only runs when you ask it to.

    And it should show up as a wireless network.
     
  5. ridewithme38

    ridewithme38 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup thats what i did...hold on i'll check again right now...it said something about needing a certain netfilter-enabled kernel

    Still nothing

    Edited to add: Ok update to version wireless_tether_2_0_5-pre11.apk
    Seems the one in the market was 2.02 and didn't want to work...this seems to work perfect...well, i can see it under network connections...still testing beyond that
     
  6. mrhomiec

    mrhomiec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    60
    the app itself also has a setting, where you have to allow
    when a device connects to it. so even tho you can see
    the network show up on your computer, it still may not
    get internet, you'll have to "allow" it from your phone.
     
  7. redgreenc

    redgreenc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so I have rooted my Droid Eris, and I am having the same kind of problem with the wireless tethering. I have the rom version, but I don't know how to
     
  8. Alleycat

    Alleycat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  9. lennyjew

    lennyjew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    38
    I know there was a roundabout way of doing this for the playstation 3 by using a computer to pick up the wifi signal and bridging the connection to wired lan and running a lan cable from the computer to the playstation.
     
  10. lennyjew

    lennyjew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    38
  11. namu1107

    namu1107 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    6
    Doesn't work when you are trying to tether to a PS3..
     

Share This Page

Loading...