Rooting HTC Eris

Last Updated:

1. jkohrt

jkohrt New Member This Topic's Starter

Hello, I am fairly new at this, I have been here when I first got my HTC Droid Eris a few moths ago but have returned due to the "Root" having been started. I came back to this forum to ask just exactly how do I "root" my HTC Eris?

Advertisement
  2. Steven58

Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

Welcome to Android Forums!! Thank you for registering. :)

I'll send this question to the eris root forum.

3. Leftyguy

Leftyguy Well-Known Member

Hi - Welcome to the Android forums - Cheers ;)

4. PhillySteve

PhillySteve Active Member

5. shaggylouie

shaggylouie Well-Known Member

6. scary alien

scary alien not really so scary Moderator

jkohrt,

Yes, welcome! You've got some good rooting options available to you now.

Please take a look through the various "sticky" threads in the http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root section here just to get a feel for what you might be getting into ;).

There's several ways to root, but I'll point you to the top three:

1. http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/127861-universal-eris-root-dummies.html - this thread by erisuser1 is very detailed, thorough and guides you along with screenshots; lots of folks have used it very successfully; this method allows you to root without having to use your PC or MAC

2. http://androidforums.com/eris-all-t...is-app-apk-no-pcs-no-scripts-needed-easy.html - this thread by jcase is very quick and easy, but details are a little sparse, but its your easiest route

3. http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/125436-detailed-leak-root-tutorial.html - this thread by surgeon0214 / alprazolam walks you through rooting via the Android SDK; this is a good method if you are comfortable with the Windows Command Prompt and want to know about each step in detail (you'll learn a lot by doing this)