Rooting issues?


Last Updated:

  1. Jcarmicha

    Jcarmicha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    6
    Followed this guide:
    http://androidforums.com/droid-all-...oid-without-rsd-lite-up-including-frg22d.html

    Whenver I tried to make a back-up of the phone I was returned to the M and hadn't moved from there. The phone is back on but I'm not to sure what would cause it to stick as opposed to going in and making a back-up?

    On top of that we installed Rom Manager Premium and it says "Application is not installed..?"

    When clicking Reboot into Recovery I am just sent back to the Motorola M also..? Something isn't right here. Any ideas..?
     

    Advertisement
  2. patch

    patch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    You mean you go to stock recovery?

    Make sure sure you did step 22 -- double check to make sure the file is renamed.
     
  3. Jcarmicha

    Jcarmicha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    6
    I definitely recall typing that step into the process. I have the superuser permissions just can't seem to do much in Rom Manager. On my phone when I click backup it puts me into a menu backing everything up.. on her phone it takes me right to the M boot screen and does nothing :(

    My phone has been rooted and hers is FRD22 or whichever was the latest version so I followed that tutorial which seemed pretty straightforward now I am running into issues when trying to backup in Rom Manager.. couldn't access the recovery when I tried through rom manager either.. took me straight to the m :(
     
  4. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    Did you also installed ROM Manager free? THAT'S the program. Premium is just a license key to unlock premium features.
     
  5. Jcarmicha

    Jcarmicha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah I had her download both :) just really seems unable to access anything. I flashed a clockwork recovery and everything. Just puzzled as I ran into none of these issues with rooting my droid. Although I didn't follow this method for mine.
     
  6. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    You can't get into ROM Manager at all? Even with both of them installed? I guess if I woke up in your shoes right now I would uninstall and reinstall the free version and try again... if you haven't already done that. THEN flash Clockwork recovery, THEN flash SPRecovery (alternate) and reflash Clockwork recovery again.
     
  7. Jcarmicha

    Jcarmicha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well I am able to get into Rom Manager and am able to flash a clockwork recovery but when I go to create a backup of my current I am sent to the m where it sticks.
     
  8. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    Did you flash alternate recovery (SPRecovery) and then re-flash Clockwork? Try that BEFORE doing the backup...
     
  9. Jcarmicha

    Jcarmicha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just did it and it worked! Whoooo! Thanks for the help.
     
  10. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    GREAT! :D

    NOW make your backup and rock on!
     
  11. Jcarmicha

    Jcarmicha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    6
    Phew now she can rock her hot pink lithium mod theme she has been eyeing up!
     
  12. patch

    patch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    I don't think you did step 22. When you reflash clockwork, it will last only until you boot back into your Froyo, then it will go back to stock recovery. It worked since you flashed and wait straight to recovery instead of letting Froyo boot.

    If you flashed a new ROM, you don't have to worry about this since it already handles step 22 for you ;)
     
  13. Jcarmicha

    Jcarmicha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    6
    As long as it's finished :)
    Pretty straight forward with the steps a little fun as I haven't played around in there too much.
     
  14. jameswilletts

    jameswilletts New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, gang -

    So yeah, I looked at the link... (http://androidforums.com/droid-all-...oid-without-rsd-lite-up-including-frg22d.html)

    ...and it's all greek to me. Perhaps because I'm a mac-****. :-/

    myTouch = T-Mobile, obviously, but I think I've found the ROM I need....

    However,--since my research tells me I need to run a recovery first-- I've been having the same issues with various recovery apk's....

    Either, "Backup FAILED: Could not run command" or "Application Not Installed" errors....

    Can anyone either explain the code-writing to me or point me in the direction of an apk that'll actually run on my phone?

    Thanks a ton!

    - James

    --
    Is it just me, or are there a lot of people having problems with their droids?

    T-Mobile myTouch 3g
    Android 2.2.1 (Stock)

    MacBook Pro
    2.8GHz Intel Core Duo
    OS X 10.5.1
     
  15. skilaufen

    skilaufen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    88
    The instructions you are referring to are for the Motorola Droid 1. I wouldn't try them on a mytouch 3g. Check out the below link and post there. Someone should be able to help you a lot better there.:)

    MyTouch 3G - All Things Root - Android Forums
     
    jameswilletts likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...