Rooting, Launchers, and Froyo

Last Updated:

1. ambitiousAmateur

ambitiousAmateur New Member This Topic's Starter

Sep 20, 2010
    I have had my Droid X for over a month now, and I love it. I am an amateur computer enthusiast, and while I lack any real coding experience I tend to be very good at understanding how things work and performing complex modifications to my PC. Since getting the Droid, my first real smartphone, I have been reading extensively about rooting, Froyo leaks, custom launchers, etc. I feel I have learned a great deal about this, however I still have not reached the confidence level to do this on my own just yet.

I am well aware of the wealth of threads on this site about the topics I am interested in, and even after just a few minutes of browsing I am confident I will find all of my answers here. However, in the interest of saving time I am hoping that there will be a few kind and generous people here who will provide me with links to threads with the answers I seek.

Oh, and for all of you who might consider sending me flaming comments about being lazy or whatnot, let me stop you right there and say you're damn right I am!

Anyway, the main areas I am interested in are:

1) Rooting and Un-Rooting. While I understand the concept and have a basic idea of how to do it, I am interested in more information about the risks beyond voiding the warranty. In addition, I am seeking a clear explanation of how to undo a root, in case I need to send it back in to Motorola for whatever reason.

2) The Froyo Leak. I have already heard a great deal about the recent leak of a nearly complete 2.2 build, and what I have heard so far has been good. I'm curious if it is indeed a good, stable build, and then how I should go about installing it on my phone.

3) Reverting to 2.1. Since running the 2.2 leak will prevent my phone from receiving additional OTA updates, I need to know the best way to revert my phone back to 2.1 when the official build is released.