Rooting magic?


Last Updated:

  1. davidmcc

    davidmcc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Without opening the box how can i tell if this Rogers HTC Magic can be rooted or not?

    The reason i ask is because some of the newest ones already have the new updated firmware applied to them (or so my friend has told me).

    Does anyone think this is the case or not?
     

    Advertisement
  2. HamidDVD

    HamidDVD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i bought a magic with android version 1.5
    there is no CD in the box and any software disc too!
    i hope this answer will help!
     
  3. davidmcc

    davidmcc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    I just opened mine, it looks OK for rooting, that's something anyway.
     
  4. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    @davidmcc: If you bought a Rogers HTC Magic+ (as opposed to a Magic) then it will have the recent 911 Big Fix applied, and you will NOT be able to root it.

    From my conversations with RogersMary, it is safe to say that Rogers likely doesn't have _any_ stock of the original Magic left 9as they were all sent back to HTC to be updated with the 911 Fix). They apparently didn't even keep any for themselves to test!

    I have never updated my Magic, so my data is currently cut off.
     
  5. davidmcc

    davidmcc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have my Magic rooted now, i got an old phone sealed so it turned out fine.
     
  6. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    May I ask where you bought it? Online, or from some other non-Rogers source? I imagine there are many people still looking to buy non-updated Magics.
     
  7. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    Funny you should ask.... I used the Craigslist app from the market and set it to local areas with "android" or HTC Magic. I've bought 3 non updated Magics since last year. My kids have two of them running Cursorsense (1.5 just like rogers but nicer, less bugs, and rooted). Mine runs everything from 1.5 to 2.1 depending how I feel that day. :)

    Suggest taking your SIM and a charged battery to test any phone you get. The only issue we now have is that we have to run ROMs with the new radio which keeps me from getting cutoff again. They really need to stop doing that. BTW, 2.1 is very close to being usable for daily use.
     

Share This Page

Loading...