Rooting my Hero and the upcoming 2.1 update


Last Updated:

  1. blindfaith76

    blindfaith76 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have read up a lot about rooting my phone, and I think I might give it a go, mainly to get rid of some of the bloatware on the sprint hero, and also for the apps2sd capability. My question is however, how will this effect my ability to update to android 2.1 in the first half of next year. Will I have to wait for a custom ROM to be made or will i be able to update as normal?

    thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    yes you will have to wait for a custom rom to be madeto get the update althought i just flashed a custom rom with 2.1 on my hero bout an hour ago (seams real stable so far)
     
  3. imneveral0ne

    imneveral0ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    does it have sense in that rom?
     
  4. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
  5. imneveral0ne

    imneveral0ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    so thats a yes lol. point me in the direction of that rom perhaps? you just gave me a reason to root lol.
     
  6. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
  7. imneveral0ne

    imneveral0ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    no link to the actual one your using?
     
  8. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
  9. imneveral0ne

    imneveral0ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    hmm, makes it a little less easy, but i'll try the best i can. thanx, rep added lol.
     
  10. Herodroid

    Herodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    48
    I installed this ROM and was excited to try out the new market and Google Maps Navigation.

    Android Market works fine, but it's not as nice as I was expecting it to be.

    Google Maps Nav would be fantastic, but anytime I try to use it, I get a GPS lock for about 1 or 2 seconds then it loses it and can't get it back without exiting the app and going back in.

    Oh well, back to Fresh 1.0 for now.
     
  11. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    You would be able to go back to the Stock RUU and update. This would lose all of your settings but you wouldn't have to wait for the custom rom.
     
  12. Penny

    Penny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what I did when I rooted before.
     
  13. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Just for those unaware... You DO know this is a NON functional ROM... Loads of stuff is missing.

    ========================================================

    From XDA:

    What works:
    - It boots up
    - Bluetooth
    - Make and receive phone calls (even though it says no service it apparently works)

    What works in our test builds (meaning they aren't publicly released and won't work using the download here) :
    - WiFi (12/01 -- flipz and tvrvic)
    - GPS (12/2 -- thanks toastcfh)
    - Recognized as Sprint network instead of "no service" and signal meter works (12/02 -- flipz)
    - Incoming and outgoing texts (12/02 -- flipz)

    What doesn't work (in the currently available download) :
    - Data
    - Texting
    - Accelerometer
    - Everything else (seriously... everything. You can play with 2.1 but it will not be a fully functional phone)

    ========================================================

    So just don't get PISSED OFF when you root your phone, load the ROM and then try to figure out why stuff won't work.

    Happy Trails!

    :)
     
  14. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22

    thats not right its needs to be updated .....so far whats not working is the Accelerometer and the camera and a few widgets (that i found)
     
  15. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    I thought ^ was posted right under the download link for the 2.1 DEV Rom. How did all those people miss the message????:confused:
     
  16. Herodroid

    Herodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    48
    Nobody is pissed off in this thread.

    I read the entire XDA thread before doing anything and I knew most stuff wouldn't work correctly when I installed it, but still wanted to try it to see what the new features were like. Switching ROMs only takes a couple minutes, so it wasn't a big deal that things I wanted to try didn't work right. I'm sure I'll try it again later in the week when I have more time to use it.
     
  17. ElAguila

    ElAguila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually they have updated this:

    From XDA:
    What works:
    - Bluetooth
    - Make and receive phone calls
    - Texts
    - Data (thanks quietcblongs)
    - Market (protected apps not showing)
    - Identifies properly as Sprint network
    - Signal meter
    - GPS


    What works in our test builds (meaning they aren't publicly released and won't work using the download here) :
    - Nothing

    What doesn't work (in the currently available download) :
    - Accelerometer
    - Camera
    - Visual voicemail
     
  18. NCKK

    NCKK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well. I hope they keep up the good work! It would be nice to get this sooner than Sprint. lol.

    But I still can't believe that they can't tell that this has been done to our phones. I think they have a list somewhere made up with all the phones that have been rooted or something... (IT'S a CONSPIRACY!!!) lol
     
  19. OxRod

    OxRod Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    What is that Toggle Bar Under your Clock Widget.....Me Wants!!! Is it a android 2.0 only widget?
     
  20. NCKK

    NCKK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    3
    You have switches that do the same thing... In sense UI...

    Menu> Add to home> HTC Widget> Settings> "Airplane mode, Bluetooth, GPS, Mobile Network, Wi-Fi"
     
  21. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    yes 1.6 or higher so far (dev are looking into implementing it in a new rom)
    not as nice looking though
     
  22. NCKK

    NCKK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Agree'd..

    If you want one like that, that bad...Some themes in open home have them...
     
  23. blindfaith76

    blindfaith76 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    When 2.1 does come out, will there be a way to upgrade without doing a wipe and losing all of your settings? I currently have fresh 1.1, what I'm asking is if all 2.1 updates will require a wipe, or will there be ways around wiping.
     
  24. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    We don't know for sure but if Sprint/HTC doesn't release the update that way, one of our beloved ROM dev's i'm sure can package it that way once we get our hands on the RUU.
     
  25. bbv203

    bbv203 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought i read somewhere that if you have only rooted and not installed a custom rom, that you would be able to recieve firmware updates? As in root to remove stock apps and add the recovery...
     

Share This Page

Loading...