Rooting n paid apps


Last Updated:

  1. mcta

    mcta Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi, can someone tell me about the benefits of rooting?
    Also after rooting, can I see paid apps? I live in a country that doesnt show paid apps.:( Its like the only reason I would want to root my phone.

    Thx.
     

    Advertisement
  2. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    Yes, you can use the app market access to see all paid apps. Market Access, of course, requires root.
     
  3. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    If you don't have the initiative to research rooting (search here, Google, etc) you probably shouldn't attempt it.

    Just to be clear:

    You can see paid apps after rooting.

    However, rooting won't make paid apps visible if you can't currently see them.
     
  4. mcta

    mcta Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ic Ic.... so if I cant currently see paid apps, I wont be able to see them even after rooting.

    lol... my bad.... should and will look into it more.... was hopping for a kind of a nut shell rundown thing or a link to something like that. ;p
    Or kind of like... 'Convince me to get my android rooted'. lol.

    Anyway, thx again. I can see sleepless nites coming again, reading and maybe tinkering. o.o
     
  5. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Can you access market via wifi? If so, just pull out your SIM and access market through wifi. You'll be able to see all apps this way.
     
  6. mcta

    mcta Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tried that before, doesnt work. I'll probably need a proxy for the phone to make the market think that Im in the US. Is there one?
    I read on a post somewhere here that some people says that a US sim card works, even if its expired. Would love to try it, but I cant get my hand on one.
     
  7. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    You have to clear your APN too. Forgot about that
     
  8. mcta

    mcta Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just tried it. Doesn't work either.
    Oh well, I guess I'll have to live off kind devs for free apps.:p

    Thx for your help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...