Rooting on Apple IBook?


Last Updated:

  1. chevboy_0

    chevboy_0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    Im new to the forums here, I have a Droid currently running Froyo and I have been thinking about rooting my phone. I recently picked up and Apple IBook G3 and I was curious if I will have any problems rooting on the Apple OSX. The main reason I'm asking is because I have noticed that some roots require using the command prompt in Windows. I did search the forums for anything I could find but didnt really find anything useful.

    The root I am planning on using is Soup or Root. This will be my first endeavour in to Rooting so any and all suggestions are greatly apprciated :D

    Thanks

    PS- Mods if I posted this in the wrong place please move it to the correct one
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    hmm.. you'll need a PC to root. the apps and drivers needed are for a PeeCee
     
  3. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    Your best bet is to flash a rooted 2.1 SBF file under Linux (there is a way to do this but I forgot how). SBFs are so much more robust than this one-click bandwagon everyone's jumping on nowadays anyway.
     
  4. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    ain't no linux on a G3 - it is not an Intel based core in a G3. He would need a newer Intel based mac to make it a dual boot system. If he had Linux access, he would likely have PeeCee access.
     
  5. chevboy_0

    chevboy_0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have beeb contemplating setting up the IBook as a Linux machine using, Debian, or Ubuntu, but I do have access to a PC at home that I can use.
     
  6. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    ahh... I was thinking shadowdude777 was implying to make the G3 a dual boot system, which the newer macs can do but the old G3 cannot... I see

    but chevboy_0, if you have access to a PC, you can root in a few minutes and not really ever need the PC again. so, hardly worth the effort to setup a system just to do a 15 minute job that is likely not going to be needed again after the 15 minutes.
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
  8. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    but there in lies the rub. Is setting up ADB on a mac different than the directions and vid shown for a PC? Are the terminal commands the same? do you need drivers or does simply attaching the phone via USB get you access? if you need mac drivers, do they exist?

    again.. without good documentation & some answers above, more time is spent wheel spinning then just setting up a PC and rooting using existing directions 1,2,3. just not worth the effort I would say. and hey, I am looking at 3 macs right now and I just decided to do it on my Intel mac - booted into XP - and it took minutes as all the documentation, steps, process are shown and outlined exactly. no guessing.
     
  9. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    You can setup adb on a mac and a mac wouldnt require drivers much like linux wouldnt. All the adb commands would be same. The only changes would be anything pertaining to windows. Like the C:\ stuff wouldnt be there. Im not at all familiar with the mac terminal but all terminals/prompts that I have ever used are very similar so I think the commands would be close. If the files to the adb tools folder all the windows commands could be easily eliminated.

    Anyway what I am saying is it shouldnt be ruled out/shot down as an impossibility. If someone really wants to figure it out and has even the slightest knowledge of the mac terminal I would be happy to help.
     
  10. chevboy_0

    chevboy_0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0

    This is a screenshot of the Terminal window on my Ibook. I dunno if this would help at all though. And as for figuring it out on OSX I'd love to try and figure it out, but I dont know a thing about programming or languages. But I can tear down and rebuild Small Block Chevys allll day long :D


    http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b72/chevyboy_0/Picture1-1.png
     
  11. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Looks like the linux terminal which is what I thought.

    Android SDK | Android Developers

    Download the sdk (Contains adb) there.
     
  12. chevboy_0

    chevboy_0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. riffdex

    riffdex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    32
    PC DOES... root
     

Share This Page

Loading...