Rooting Telus HTC Hero


Last Updated:

  1. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello everyone. I recently purchased my hero from Telus (my first android phone) and so far I'm decently happy. However I really want to update to a newer version of the OS as there are some quirks with 1.5! What does a telus hero need to have done in order to root it and install a custom rom? Do I have to use this gold card method? Is there one difinitive guide for rooting a telus hero that is specific to the telus version of the phone?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    You'll subscribe to any thread you create or reply to by default :)

    You root the telus hero just like any other (see the guide at the top of this forum). When you first try you should ignore the goldcard method and just try the instantroot and flashrec apps.

    You only need to consider the goldcard method if your firmware blocks flashrec and instantroot (which I think a lot of telus users find). In that case you use the goldcard method to downgrade to an older version of the telus firmware on which flashrec + instantroot work :)
     
  3. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried instaroot and in the notification bar it says instant root failed. So I assume I have to do the gold card method then? I'm preparing the goldcard as we speak but will wait for an answer before I brick my phone :p

    As well my firmware is not listed in the how to root thread. Mine is 2.73.661.46 CL#74632 What guide should I follow for my Telus Hero in this case?
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I think the guide gives the impression that there's a variety of ways to root the hero, but there's only one method, and that's flashrec. It's just that some firmwares require you to downgrade first.

    It does sound like yours needs downgrading. You should try using flashrec, and it you get a 'BACKUP FAILED' message then you'll have to use the goldcard.
     
  5. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK I'm almost through the goldcard method. I think I will make a telus guide for hero owners as it seems very confusing starting out as we aren't even listed in the rooting thread.
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Cool, sounds like a good idea. You could help just2sexy improve the guide so it makes sense for Telus customers :)
     
  7. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK I have two questions before I proceed, I'm at this part >

    4. Download this generic HTC Hero RUU

    Hero RUU -
    2.73.405.5
    2.73.405.5 (alternative)

    5. Double click the RUU exe you downloaded while the phone is plugged in with the GoldCard in it and follow the on screen procedure. This will install the old generic Hero rom on your phone, this is to allow you to install a recovery image. Reboot and fill in as few details as possible as these will be overwritten soon.

    6. Now you have finished this procedure start from the beginning again.


    Do I mount the SD Card for windows reading before opening the Hero RUU? And it says start from the beginning again after I'm done this part, but does it mean the beginning of this guide > [Guide] Complete Newbie Guide to Install a Custom Rom & Newbie FaQ [Updated 02/05] - xda-developers

    or should I try instaroot after it is downgraded?
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    No, I don't think the SD card should be mounted whilst installing the RUU.

    Once you've installed the old firmware, you should use flashrec to put the custom recovery image. Running instantroot is only useful if you want to use titanium backup to back up your apps (since this requires root). The downgraded firmware won't have any apps on it so this is pointless.

    EDIT: So you might want to try MyBackup Pro (free 30 day trial) to backup your apps and restore to the new firmware, as it doesn't require root. Or at the very least write down your installed apps.
     
  9. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Seriously awesome! Thank you for your many replies!! I have root access and now trying to decide which rom I want to install. Is the villianrom the way to go in your opinion?
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    At the moment I think the best 2.1 + Sense is Villain 6 (Although version 6.1 and 6.2 don't seem to be working as well, 6.0 is geat :) ).

    There is also SenseHero, which is very similar but has a theme applied to it which I don't really like.

    There are lots of 2.1 ROMs without HTC sense, but I don't use those so couldn't really recommend any.

    EDIT: Actually 6.2 seems ok to me.
     
  11. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't seem to find 6.0, but I can find 6.2. If you say 6.0 is not as buggy I would like to use that one if I can find it. Do you by chance have a link?
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Hmm, it seems they got rid of the 6.0 and 6.1 links. But the only problem I had with 6.2 is that it was very slow until I restarted it. I'd give it a try :)
     
  13. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK I have 6.2 Installed, but man it is unbelievably slow! Lag time when typing is about 2 seconds, switching screens is VERY slow and frustrating. Maybe it's just the sense UI I'm not sure, but it is a lot slower than the stock 1.5! Is there anything I'm missing?
     
  14. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK wait, this is really weird but it was fine for a bit, now it's really slow again...
     
  15. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Yeah, that's what I found. 6.2 seems to take a while to settle, not sure why. I've never found it with any other custom ROM. After a few reboots now everything seems back up to speed.
     
  16. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    If I wanted to try a rom without sense which would you suggest? If you're tired of me bugging you just say so by the way however all your help is appreciated.
     
  17. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
  18. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe this is normal but I still got a chuckle out of it, I received this email shortly after installing villianrom 6.2:

    Hello,

    Your new Nexus One phone has many cool and useful features. Learn more by clicking on the links to watch brief YouTube videos directly on your phone:

    Customise your home screen with widgets and live wallpapers. Learn more
    Read, search, archive, label and write emails on the go. Learn more
    Watch videos or upload your own videos directly to YouTube. Learn more
    Get turn by turn directions with satellite and street views of your route. Learn more
    Speak and have the phone type for you with voice input. Learn more
    Take pictures with your 5mp camera with flash, and view them in your 3D Media Gallery. Learn more
    Get cool applications and games on Android Market. Learn more
    Sync your contacts, Facebook and email accounts with QuickContact. Learn more
    Enjoy!
    The Android Team at Google
     
  19. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Heh, yeah I got that too the first few times I used 2.1. I would have thought they'd stop, now that the N1 isn't the only 2.1 running phone.
     
  20. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think it's just rom specific because I doubt motorola milestone/droid users are getting emails welcoming them to their new nexus one. But maybe I'm wrong. Either way still funny. The vanillian rom was pulled due to some issues, but the more I play with this 6.2 I think I'm going to stay with it for a few days.
     
  21. tagme

    tagme Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow... This is confusing! I'm with telus as well and nothing seems to be working for me!! If there's a "How to for Telus" let me know where it is!! I'm confused!!

    Thanks in advance!
     
  22. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm going to submit an update to the how to. Essentially what I did today was use the gold card method of downgrading the 1.5 telus firmware to the 1.5 stock firmware. Then you go ahead and start at the very beginning of the how to.
     
  23. tagme

    tagme Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well... That's what I've been trying but it seems like I've got the wrong files cause nothing goes like it should!! The RUU isn't working no matter what!
     
  24. captaincool

    captaincool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sorry but I don't know enough about the process yet to troubleshoot it, however I had no hiccups along the way.
     
  25. tagme

    tagme Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for trying!! I'll work my way around! ;-)
     

Share This Page

Loading...