rooting the easy way


Last Updated:

  1. NOMster

    NOMster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    109
    zroot from the market. download it. it will also install superuser and it will root by simply clicking. gives you the option to root or unroot as needed. confirmed working by using it and changing the launcher, removed voicemail and email. phone still trucking on. thinking of removing the sprint id app too.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    Can't find it in the market.
     
  3. bfready

    bfready Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can't find it on Market either...
     
  4. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Probably isn't available for 2.2.
     
  5. NOMster

    NOMster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    109
    my bad. the correct name is

    "z4root" sorry about that everybody.
     
  6. rumplesteelskin

    rumplesteelskin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    what are the benefits to rooting this phone if the hotspot is already active?
     
  7. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    And there isn't much bloatware to get rid of in this phone either. The only reason I want to root is to get that app to get rid of the ads in Angry Birds! lol ;)
     
  8. NOMster

    NOMster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    109
    Ad blocker. Changing fonts, removing sprint id, replacing the launcher with the one that doesn't have id but had the browser button. Removing the email and voicemail apps. Etc.
     
  9. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    Is that the only way to replace that stupid ID button?
     
  10. NOMster

    NOMster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    109
    As far as I know
     
  11. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yay it worked! :)

    I lied no it didn't. I have the Superuser icon but when I tried to use AdFree or Root Explorer it said I wasn't rooted. :(
     
  12. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    The other benefit I use is to take screenshots.

    But once again this phone can take screenshots via "shootme" without rooting, so I never rooted it while I had the phone.
     
  13. NOMster

    NOMster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    109
    You have to open the z4root app and tell it to root first
     
  14. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    38
    And debugging has to be on, too.
     
  15. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    788
  16. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yes I opened it and click "root" and debugging was on. It also rebooted itself after but I still can't use those two apps I said.
     
  17. NOMster

    NOMster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    109
    Can you go into settings and check the software version on your phone. If your on the recent update, root may not work.




    Also as always if anyone jacks up their phone it is their own responsibility as doing any of this voids your warranty.
     
  18. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    I don't know what the recent software version is. I just know I have 2.2. All the Optimuses do.
     
  19. NOMster

    NOMster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    109
    Go 5 settings then about phone. Get the build number kernel version all of that
     
  20. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    Kernel Version - 2.6.32.9
    Build Number - FRF91
    SW Version - LS670ZV8
     
  21. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    Someone said over at Android Central to remove Lookout before you try to root. I have Lookout so maybe that's the problem? I'll wait and try again after I get the update.
     
  22. gizmosears

    gizmosears New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you have to download "busybox" also for most of the root needed apps to work. Just search for it in the market.
     
  23. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    No you need root to download BusyBox. It's for loading custom ROMS.
     
  24. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    I removed Lookout and tried again. Still didn't work. Don't know what I'm doing wrong. I give up.
     
  25. bloodbought

    bloodbought Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here were my steps to success:
    Installed z4root (from market), ran the app, followed steps
    Rebooted
    Installed Busybody Installer (from market), ran the app, followed steps
    Rebooted
    Enjoying root :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...