• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Rooting the EVO 4g

Hey all. I have been browsing since I bought the Sprint, Evo 4G. I am a truck driver and spend weeks out on the road. I am happy with my phone but some what disappointed.

I guess its my fault not researching thing before hand, but my main objective is to watch netflix via hdmi from my evo to my Tv. I was told by my local Sprint guy that I need to root my phone. But he cant/wont do it. Also he said rooting will get rid of all the bs on my phone and it will run better, an more useful. Draw back is, it will cancel out my warranty and insurance. Im not to worried about it.

How hard is rooting? The sprint guy here said it takes 8-10 hrs. I have computer experience and what not, might make it easier for me... I have looked at some links that kinda help (like a walkthrough) But I was just wondering from the guys here that have done it their selfs.

Thanks very much.

Hi there truckdrivermn!

Welcome to the Android Forums! I personally have a Sprint HTC EVO 4G myself and have yet to root it. I may do so sometime soon.
Anyways, I highly recommend that you check out the thread devoted to rooting the EVO 4G, here....EVO 4G: All Things Root Guide

Also, if you want an easy way to access the forum directly from your EVO, I highly recommend the free Phandroid app, which you can find here at in the Google Play Market....Phandroid

Upvote 0
Welcome to the forums! :D

It def does not take take 8-10 hours. Depending on your H-boot it could only take 15-20 mins once you get everything downloaded.

Pull the battery out of your phone and put it back in,

Then hold power+volume down to get to your H-boot screen. Post what you see there and we can link you to the step-by-step directions to achieve root.

Upvote 0
thank you all for the welcomes and replies. Here is whats on my screen, (BTW Latest update was 2.3.5)

*** LOCKED (00W) ***
SUPERSONIC EVT3 SHIP S-ON