• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Rooting the Samsung GEM SCH-i100

So I spent almost a Week reading and researching- trying to find a way to do all of this. I am a Computer Technician, I own My own Business, and before 2 weeks ago I had never operated a droid. That didn't help, but I was determined- Here is how I did it.... I think... :p

First off, I had downloaded the Android SDK- I am 99% positive that it had NOTHING to do with a successful Root, but I could be wrong- FYI- I put the SuperOneClick into the Root folder where I placed the SDK before I ran it.

So yes- this is a superOneClick Method- took a few tries and fails but I got it- Then I found a 2.2.2 update on the Samsung website and installed it which I then had to Re-Root the system.

and for the record, I am running a Core2 Duo @ 3.2Ghz- Nvidia 7600gs, and Windows 7 ultimate with enough Eye-Candy running to make a lesser system run at x486 speeds~

Starting Off>
1:) Download this--> http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=674200&d=1312258565

(You may need an xda account)

2:) Go Here-->Samsung and Download the 8mb File. This is the CDMA Driver you need. you can also get the FroYo Android update here as well, but that can wait.

3:) Install the CDMA Driver, install the Superoneclick to a folder on the desktop or the Root of C:\ Restart your PC.

4:) On your Gem- turn off ALL wireless, Enable Airplane Mode. Unmount the SD card and REMOVE it. open Settings and go to Applications-> Development-> ENABLE USB Debugging + ENABLE Stay Awake

5:) Turn your Gem OFF- Then Back On. (I am assuming you have already backed up important Data- If not Do it now and THEN restart your device.)