Rooting tmr


Last Updated:

  1. erisx

    erisx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'm rooting tomorrow (tonights a review! xD) and I need ideas on a good stable rom, that's overclocked by default. so yeah, that's all I'm askin for
    Thanks in advance!
    Edit: messed up on the title Dx sorry
     

    Advertisement
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,662
    Likes Received:
    22,012
    Good luck, you'll be fine!

    A good starter ROM is always PlainJaneT2 (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=718092)...we used to advocate Ivan's Eris Official 1.0 (its what's still on my phone), but PJT2 has the 17-July-2010 OTA updates in it. Wishing Ivan would build a new version of his.

    You are going to get lots of suggestions from other folks too, I suspect (especially for the xtrSense and xtrROM ROMs, both great from what I hear, but I don't know too many details re. those guys).

    You'll probably flash lots more as time goes on...just remember to practice "safe" rooting (i.e., make your Nandroid backups and do the proper wipes).

    Cheers!

    PS/BTW: you can edit your thread title for a little while after its first posted...but hey, your title is a little intriguing...makes people go, "what's a 'tmr'?" :D
     
  3. erisx

    erisx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol it is..well different, but anyways, is Ivans ROM overclocked by default? i feel if i mess with setcpu i might mess it up :p
     
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,662
    Likes Received:
    22,012
    erisx,

    Well, I've always been a little confused by this...when I first flashed Ivans ([ROM] Eris_Official 1.0 Alpha With Controllable Overclocking! [5/9/2010] - xda-developers), I was more than happy with the phone's responsiveness and like you, didn't touch the setCPU app. Then, after a week or so, I launched the app and saw that the phone was noticably snappier.

    I think the scoop is that the kernel is overclockable but isn't overclocked at boot time. You have to actually run setCPU (an older version that is already included in the app drawer in this ROM--one of the few you'll find like this) to get it to overclock. Also, you are pretty safe since this kernel won't allow you to overclock higher than 710MHz. So, even when you launch setCPU, that's a max and very safe setting.

    Check out the http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/98457-overclocking-hmm.html thread...I think the settings I use are in there. Its got some good advice in there.

    Cheers!
     
  5. nathanirwin311

    nathanirwin311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    16
    Try XTRrom or XTRSense. The newest 4.5 and 4.1 are not oc'd by default, but you can control it by running a gscript. If you use the previous builds 4.0.6.1 then they are oc'd to 710 by default.
     
  6. erisx

    erisx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it doesn't say it isn't...
     
  7. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Feel free to inquire of the running kernel what it thinks its min and max are:

    If you use a terminal emulator, leave out the "adb shell" part.

    eu1
     
  8. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    The 4.2 builds are OC to 710 by default. This has been confirmed to be stable on 99.999% of all Eris phones, so no need to worry. There are also several Gscripts included to further mess with the OC/UC capabilities.

    Ever since we've been using the Gscripts, I like it a lot better than SetCPU. SetCPU takes internal storage space and is always running (using your memory). The ONLY advantage I've found with SetCPU is that you're able to make a Failsafe profile. If anyone knows how to script one up, please let me know. I'd love to speak with zach.xtr to try an have his ROMs include an "IF Temp. > THEN 245/19.2 MHz" by default.
     
  9. erisx

    erisx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    well no that im done with school, i guess imma root now :eek: well i think ill go with xtrsense...but im freakin out over here!!
     
  10. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    No need to freak...

    While you are doing it, go to chat.andirc.net

    The developers col there and can help you.

    Just run jcase's One Click Root, make a Nandroid, wipe, and flash your new ROM.
     
  11. nathanirwin311

    nathanirwin311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    16
    So how did it go?
     

Share This Page

Loading...