Rooting- Worth It?

Last Updated:

1. Phandroid1

Phandroid1 Member This Topic's Starter

I am a noob who recently rooted. Overall, I've been really happy with the outcome. I was hesitating because of the fear of the unknown. I thought I’d try to gauge the opinions of those who actually went through with the process to help those who are thinking about taking the plunge.

This poll is ONLY for those who have already gone through the process of rooting, updating their radio, and flashing a ROM. Was it the right decision?

Advertisement
  2. DWSFresh

DWSFresh Active Member

I'm still all stock, and still pondering whether or not to root. I am definitely a huge noob when it comes to everything Android, but have a few friends who've made the transition. I suppose I'm just kind of scared of the risk, if there is one.

I love Sense (and the whole stock DInc experience), but I'm wondering if I could make my phone something more personal; more DWSFresh, if you will (and I hope you will).

Regardless of my situation, opinions of experienced rooters would be extremely appreciated.

3. jpallen77

jpallen77 Well-Known Member

No reason not to root now that it can be undone. Too many advantages to mention. You can now make your Incredible "INCREDIBLE".:cool:

4. upther

upther Well-Known Member

I'm glad that I took the leap the other night. My phone is so much more fun now.

5. Nightfall

Nightfall Well-Known Member

I was in the same boat as you were. In the end, I rooted, and then installed the Skyranger 2.5.2 rom. I love it. Now I have froyo and best of all, I have a rooted phone to run all the cool rooted apps. This makes my phone truly incredible. :)

6. stuckpig

stuckpig Well-Known Member

run unrevoked 3
    update to unrevoked forever
    create a nandroid backup
    install radio 2.15
    install the latest cyanogenmod

don't think about it, just do it.

7. iowabowtech

iowabowtech root@android:/ #