RS asking employees to format SD cards


Last Updated:

  1. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    67
    j thought i'd give every one the heads up that today a mass email was sent out telling all RS employees how to reformat the SD card. i cant imagine them opening up every box before launch and doing so. but my guess is they want this done when you boot up the device in store. i did it to mine today and only took all of 20 seconds. dont worry you an still ask them not to and take it home and do it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mx7

    mx7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    25
    bs
     
  3. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    67
  4. DarkManX4lf

    DarkManX4lf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    9
    I don't get it. What is the point of them formatting the SD card?
     
  5. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    67
    the cards were sent from the manufacture not formatted properly
     
  6. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    that is what is causing the whole SD card issue with the Google I/O phones that people are dealing with... it just takes a simple reformat but apparently there are many stupid fellow out there who don't think to do that, i think it's good RS is trying to help the customers out! you can always ask them not to
     
    ekt8750 likes this.
  7. somnambulus

    somnambulus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are they formatted using the phone? Or using a PC? To be honest, I want to get in and out of the RS store as fast as possible. I did order 4 of them and I need to get to work right after I pick them up.
     
  8. Android 17

    Android 17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    176
    Just as long as they don't open the phones prior to the customers purchasing them...it's something I'd rather do myself anyway.
     
  9. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    67

    its done on the phone.
     
    skpd and somnambulus like this.
  10. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    67
    ya, they wont do that. that would be stupid.
     
  11. eieio

    eieio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    823
    julieb1117 and reallynotnick like this.
  12. Rob_A

    Rob_A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    216
    BB probably charges $20 to do this. lol

    "Special Geek Squad SD card setup service"
     
  13. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    67
  14. v01rider

    v01rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    169
    follow this and you are all set!

     
  15. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    67

    not sure if they realized this but you can do this from on the phone without DLing anything. literally take 20 seconds.
     
  16. senormatt

    senormatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    80
    steps?
     
  17. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    67
    gimme a minute, im at home. just asked manager to send me pic of steps.
     
  18. v01rider

    v01rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    169
    excellent!!! :D:D
     
  19. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    67
    1. menu
    2. settings
    3. SD and phone storage menu
    4. unmount SD card
    5. format SD card
    6. (pop up asking if your sure)
    7. push pop up
    8. select "erase everything"

    thats it.
     
    3volut1on, culaslucas, skpd and 4 others like this.
  20. v01rider

    v01rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    169
    word!! thanks
     
  21. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    96
    Ok so when people get home and want to install HTC Sync from the card they'll be SOL? I'd assume you could download it again from the HTC site but as of right now, they don't list the EVO on the download page. Seems like this would just confuse some people who actually read the manual.

    Is there anything else preloaded on the card other than HTC Sync?
     
  22. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    96
    Also, I'd assume that if HTC has a software fix for it, that it's not really the card that is the problem.
     
  23. RoadkillStewie

    RoadkillStewie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Do we 'know' the HTC 'fix' just reformats the card and doesn't actualyl 'fix' something else?
     
  24. horadin

    horadin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    21
    Are you referring to the over the air update reformatting the card? I highly doubt that because people would magically lose whatever they have put on it. This is an update to the phones software. Not an OTA reformatting of the card.
     
  25. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    HTC sync is generic just get the latest version of sync and you'll be good to go

    here is the link to the latest version 2.0.33 HTC SYNC
    Download HERE
     

Share This Page

Loading...