RSDlite won't detect phone


Last Updated:

  1. Coppercobra

    Coppercobra Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey Guys,

    I'm trying to root my phone from stock OTA 2.1 update-1. I've followed all the guides I've been able to get my hands on. The only thing stopping me is that RSDlite is not detecting my phone when it's in Bootloader. Everything on the flash screen says that it's good to go. I've installed all the drivers and the PC does detect the Motorola Flash Device. I tried using 2 different computers, one with XP SP3 and one with Vista (ran as admin), and nothing on both. I've spent hours searching the web for similar problems and solution, I've tried just about everything and I'm about to lose it. Any one else experience something like this? Any tips on something that could fix this issue?

    Thanks,
    Rod
     

    Advertisement
  2. Branndon

    Branndon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    30
    Had that issue months ago when I tried. Never could get it, sorry and good luck.
     
  3. nofxdan

    nofxdan Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Had this problem myself, but this did the trick for me...

    In RSD Lite, go to:
    Config > DeviceId Options > [x] First-Come-First-Serve DeviceId Mode

    Hope this works :)
     
  4. Coppercobra

    Coppercobra Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    nofxdan,
    I've tried that and the Auto Detect option on both computers, still nothing. Thanks for the tip.
     
  5. Coppercobra

    Coppercobra Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Good news! After endless hours of working at it I got it to work. All I had to do was... install linux and learn how to use it, install VirtualBox and learn how to use it, install a fresh copy of WinXP in to the VirtualBox, make my way through countless fails flashes, and then format my SDcard. It was quite the experience but my phone is currently installing the latest Droidmod... and it just finished :D This was a roller coaster ride... lots of highs and lows! I'm just happy I didn't freak over all the errors I got. Thanks to everyone for your help!
     
  6. nathan312

    nathan312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    25
    All that for Droidmod??
     
  7. Coppercobra

    Coppercobra Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's my first ROM, so I decided to go for something simple to install... and after all I've been through, I just have no energy left :p
     
  8. Branndon

    Branndon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    30
    It's like saying you had any car you wanted to choose from, and you picked a Ford Fiesta. :)
     
  9. ChahlesPrince

    ChahlesPrince Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem and was kinda freaking out... then I just restarted the computer and it worked. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...