Run a backed up OTA?


Last Updated:

  1. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    How can one apply the OTA received from the carrier without redownloading it? It's a zip, but no as heavy as a PB99IMG, and not compatible for flashing with the built in flash.

    But still, if one could flash it directly from the stock unrooted rom, without redownloading it each time, it would make up for the lack of an updated RUU in case of certain stock branded Desires.

    Even if it is in "download" folder, system wont recognize it when we choose "Check for updates". It redownloads it..

    EDIT: Just realised this isnt actually a rooting issue. But it maybe related to unrooting :). Wish the forum had a Q & A section like XDA
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    hmmm, im thinking this would be from the devices recovery flash update.zip
    i cant remember what options are in the more up to date stock recoveries but i thought there was an apply update.zip option still
     
    droidzone likes this.
  3. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    Oops..With all the enthusiasm with the rooted Recovery, I'd totally forgotten that there was actually another function in the Android recovery, other than Wipe :D.. Thanks!
     
  4. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    One more question: Do you know how a hard reset works, and if it does anything more than the recovery wipe? They did that at Service when I took it..It didnt do any good, still wondering what that was about..
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Recovery.wipe and hard reset are the same. Wipe /data and :cache
     
  6. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    Their effects are same, or HTC just refers to Wipe as Hard reset?

    He gave me the impression of resetting it by poking a pin or something.. :)
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It's the same. For some reason hard reset, in the world of android isn't the same as in the world of IT

    Hard reset means data wipe here. IT it means disconnect from power. Like a battery pull.
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    it never used to be, its a lazy term it people adopted.
    up untill recently the term hardreset in smartphones was a datawipe

    blackberries kinda messed that up due to hibernation, soft reset is power down and power back up
    hard reset is battery pull
    i would imagine this is the case for the desire hd and desire z as they now hibernate instead of shut down
     

Share This Page

Loading...