Running Apps?Support


Last Updated:

  1. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    I noticed on a lot of the other threads: "If you hold down 'home' you can see your running apps, so you don't need a task killer, just to exit the apps properly"

    However, on my Nexus I hold down 'home' and it just shows me the last 6 apps I've used. Is there a different way of doing this for the Nexus.. or am I stuck with having to get a Task Killer/Manager?
     

    Advertisement
  2. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    To avoid the risk of starting another lonely, lonely thread.. I'll post my other question here :p...

    Is there an app that will let me toggle 3G on and off? I see a couple that will change all these settings to block the phone from connecting but they seem overly complex (and they warn that if uninstalled incorrectly the phone will be left unable to connect, which scares me)

    Is there a simple way of switching 3G on and off?
     
  3. Soupdragon

    Soupdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    19
    market search "3g toggle" brought up toggle data widget + others - nothing suitable?
     
  4. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    Those are the ones that change all these settings, something like rewriting where the phone is trying to connect to a location that doesn't exist so that it doesn't connect (I AM most likely missing something here).. I was hoping there was one that just accessed my settings and toggled from "3G when available" to "2g only" and back when I want to.

    Maybe they are one in the same thing. I just don't understand all the setting altering mumbo jumbo. :(
     
  5. semianonymous

    semianonymous Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Long pressing home just brings up a recent task switcher. If you want to kill apps, you'll have to use the method in the settings, or get an app. I'd suggest either TasKiller or, if you're willing to spend a little cash, Advanced Task Manager is pretty fantastic

    APIdroid is the only one that I can think of. It kills all network activity, though. No calls, nothing.
     
  6. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    I guess it doesn't matter too much after all... I noticed that its the display that's draining most of my battery. I'm on my third charge cycle.. maybe it'll improve over time?
     
  7. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Search the market for OneClick Widgets.......it works well as a shortcut to the system setting for 2G networks tick box.
     
  8. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thank you. This is EXACTLY what I was looking for!
     
  9. dfdff

    dfdff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is said "
    From home screen go:Settings > Applications > running services
    find the app you want to kill, and just close it.
    try it :D
     
  10. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks, I guess it isn't as inconvenient as I thought.

    And as for OneClick Widgets.. they work great however I found that on 2G I'm missing and dropping calls as opposed to on 3G I have no problems with service.
    Which is odd because I thought it was supposed to be the other way around, "If your having problems with dropped/missed calls and you're on 3G, try switching to 2G" which I've read in some other forums.
     

Share This Page

Loading...