RUUMR2 downgrade not possibleGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    85
    You cannot downgrade to 1.5 using the MR2 RUU from personal communications. Wrong Bootloader.
     

    Advertisement
    Slugdoc and thetomlin2 like this.
  2. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    sigh.
     
  3. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    Thanks for the info ...I am waiting for OTA
     
  4. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    85
    FYI I did go through and run the RUU I am not making speculations.

    Yes the RUU is a full version of 1.5 because it wipes your phone and puts a new version of 1.5 on it. If it didn't wipe your phone I would question it but the RUU would not take your firmware off your phone reconfigure it then reload it. It will take it off and replace it less chance of a screwup.
     
  5. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    This is EXACTLY why I am not doing the update yet.

    A quote from Simpsons: (Homer?) asks Marge, Do you want it done fast, or do you want it done right? Marge: Like any American, fast!

    I'd rather have it done right, rather than done fast.

    If they really have ROOT figured out with the 2.1 stuff (which they wouldn't release, until the official one comes out, so htc/verizon doesn't patch it), then this won't matter anyway. I'm hopeful for this.

    But being safe, not sorry. Don't want to be stuck with a not-upgradeable, not-downgradeable 2.1 installation
     
  6. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    I think with a root, it will all be irrelevant.
     
  7. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    85
    Once we get root we will be able to change the bootloader and then downgrade. That is one of the ways it can be worked around.
     
  8. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    85
    Just pointed out on XDA by SickBox: We should be able to download the RUU for 2.1 just like we are able to do with the Ruu for 1.5. We will then have the Verizon approved 2.1.
     
  9. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    *Should
     
  10. Droid.eris

    Droid.eris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    3
    So does that mean that i am stuck on 2.1 i have to send my phone back to VZW and this is gonna look suspicious when they open the box and repair it

    Ohh and dont they have a image like with 2.1 that we can download and run without RUU
     
  11. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    85
    Thank you for reading....most would take that as fact! :D
     
  12. Droid.eris

    Droid.eris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay there is a guy on another for saying that it will work and i got to the reboot part but it just loaded back up to 2.1??? is this HTC and Googles way of sayin you shouldnt have peaked :sad:
     
  13. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    90
    a manual upgrade to 2.1 will come out, and sent to partners... so not to worry. I'm testing 2.1 now, as soon as im done, i'll be putting 1.5 back on... i'll figure it out one way or another. =-)
     
  14. davbak

    davbak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Do share if you figure it out.
     
  15. Ty07allstar

    Ty07allstar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm going to do the same thing. Post when you do it and how to do it.
     
  16. Droid.eris

    Droid.eris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay but idk ive tried everything i cant find a image and when i boot to the hboot it doesnt give the option everything looks so weird to me all it says is clear storage... SMH if somebody finds away please post asap with a link or instructions
     
  17. karib

    karib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    30
    +1
     
  18. L0stS0ul

    L0stS0ul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    7
    OP is right. I just checked it with mine as well and looks like with 2.1 they update the bootloader and you can no longer go back to 1.5.
     
  19. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    85
    O.K. I just pulled the Rom.zip from the MR2 update on PCD and renamed it to PM00IMG.zip and the bootloader will not let it downgrade. we need to put a new bootloader on via root. So if you just want to try it out then go back....well you can't! If you are willing to have faith that we will find a way to get the official OTA to you then hop on its a much smoother ride.
     
  20. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    85
    BTW, this is where the SPL comes in and why you will always need to install a new one if you intend to use root. SPL=Second Program Loader, So factory SPL will only allow factory programs (android OS) and a modified SPL will allow any cooked rom to be loaded as long as the SPL is setup to no check for signatures. Then you get into the radio version and that is why you cannot load different roms from different phones just because you have root.
     
  21. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    90
    I beg to differ... I'm flashing 1.5 MR2 as we type..... i'm recording a flash video... and its seems to be about half way done... unless it fails... lol. we'll see in about 9 mins.

    sad part is im only doing it to see if I can go back.. then i'll just be flashing RIGHT back to 2.1.... until the official OTA ROM comes out... and then i'll see what happens thing.

    I feel like a yo-yo

    -----------------
    ok MR2 manual PC downgrade (upgrade to 1.5) does NOT work. hmm... now the hunt begins...

    On the plus side, my wife's Eris will stay on 1.5 until the OTA comes out... so i'll cancel her update, and manually catch it via a link (as previously posted), this should give use the installer we need to manually install the official 2.1 hehe, thats assuming the OTA doesn't work on this leaked 2.1..... tick, tock.... now we wait.
     
    dyrut likes this.
  22. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    85
    It will fail> Sorry I already went through this on XDA.
     
  23. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    I read on XDA that it's impossible using the RUU, especially the MR2 RUU, but it might be possible using a file that's extracted while running MR1 RUU.

    I have NOT tried this, but you're welcome to be the guinea pig.

    1. With your phone not connected to your computer, run the MR1 RUU (not MR2). Get to the point where it says it can't find your phone and wants to exit. Don't exit.

    2. In Windows explorer, go to:
    c:\Documents and Settings\yourusername\Local Settings\Temp

    3. Sort by date, and the most recent subdirectory should be from no more than a few minutes earlier. It'll be something like "{C4AEBEB0-34E4-482A-811F-C426B9FA87AC}". Open it and find "rom.zip".

    4. Move "rom.zip" out of that directory onto your desktop or something and then exit the MR1 RUU.

    5. Rename "rom.zip" to "PB00IMG.zip", put it on your SD card, and follow the directions that we all used to upgrade in the first place.
     
  24. Mr.Slave

    Mr.Slave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    85
    Sorry no can do. I found someone to trade me straight across for the Moto Droid and haven't regretted it. Best decision I have made in a long time!
     
  25. TheProfessional

    TheProfessional Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    I tried it. Doesn't work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...