S-OFF and HBOOT 2.16.0001

1. ComputerCowboy

ComputerCowboy New Member

I promise I have read through this whole thread and not found an answer...I am a bit of a noob so my apologies.

I have:

SUPERSONIC EVT3 SHIP S-OFF
    HBOOT-2.16.0001

I ran unrEVOked and then the next day I foolishly accepted the HTC update to gingerbread before I had a chance to do any backups or flash any new ROMs. Since I do have the S-OFF, does this mean I can re-root (update apparently unrooted)? If so, could someone please point me in the right direction? If not, I will go back to waiting like everyone else. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
    :
  2. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

if you have s-off then you are pretty much still rooted. do you have a custom recovery? if not then you can just flash a recovery. you can get it here:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/259446-clockwork-amon-ra-pc36img-files.html. after you have the recovery then you can just flash a rom.

edit: almost forgot to welcome you to the forums. so welcome to the forums!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ComputerCowboy likes this.
  3. ComputerCowboy

ComputerCowboy New Member

Thanks for the welcome to the threads and the Info!

I ran the latest clockwork recovery and then tried running rom manager and got the same SU error that originally made me think I was never properly rooted or that the update un-rooted me.

Tried to run busybox and same errors... no such file in system/bin/su

Should I wait for the next unrevoked or do you think I still have a chance?

Thanks.
  4. frenchy714

frenchy714 Well-Known Member