S4 Canadian Virgin Mobile - Rooting Troubles

1. Farseen

Farseen Member

Hi All,

I've spent all day trying to figure this out. I'm a pretty tech-saavy dude too, so I've finally decided to join this forum to post for help.

Carrier
    Virgin Mobile

Model Number:
    SGH-1337M

Baseband Version
    I337MVLUAMG1

Kernel Version
    3.4.0-897376

Build Number
    JDQ39.I337MVLUAMG1

I've followed numerous guides and even 'successfully' rooted my phone using Odin, however when I launch applications like 'RootCheck' and 'Titanium' they both tell me it's not rooted, even though everything went as planned.

My gut feeling, based on some research, is that the stock firmware is overwriting my rooting stuff (I don't know the terminology yet!) when it boots up.

Anyway, I really want to root this bad boy! I just switched to the S4 after 6 long years of iPhones so I'm real stoked to get it feeling the way I want.

Could someone provide me a link to some proper files? I think that's where I get lost.

I currently already have downloaded and attempted to root using this:

- Samsung USB Driver (just verifying I do have this)
    - Odin v3.07
    - CF-Auto-Root-jfltecan-jfltevl-sghi337m.tar

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement
    :
  2. Mikestony

Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

ironass likes this.
  3. ironass

ironass Well-Known Member

Hi Farseen!

You don't mention in your post that after flashing the CF-Root kernel you have SuperSU installed on your phone in the app drawer which is something I would normally expect after flashing that kernel.

If it is not installed, download it, using the link, from the Play Store and see if that helps.
    Mikestony likes this.
  4. Farseen

Farseen Member

Thanks for the responses.

My model is a Samsung Galaxy S4 on Virgin Mobile (carrier).

I have put in SuperSU and it seems to open fine without giving me any errors, but looks quite empty in general.