"Safe Mode" WTF???General


Last Updated:

  1. trav473

    trav473 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    134
    OK, here's one I haven't seen yet. I've had my Eris sense November, loaded and uninstalled way too many apps, performed hard resets, loaded the 2.1 leak the night it was "found", and even done a couple hard resets sinse then. Had a new one pop up tonight, playing aroung I installed LockBot free. playing with it and Home, the phone got laggy. So, first thing I do is reboot. the phone restarts, but now it has a translucient box in the lower left corner and says "Safe Mode" and none of my Non-Android (ie Sense, Handcent, Pandore,...) widgets are showing up on the screen, let alone working, they just have little boxes that say "Problem Loading Gadget". Rebooted again, "Safe Mode" is gone, but widgets stil not working..... Any one ever get this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    Pictures probably helps us diagnose
     
  3. trav473

    trav473 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    134
    I'm not worried about it, after reboot, i deleted all the non-working widgets and put them back on, all's good now, just never have seen this before and wondered if anyone alse has.
     
  4. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    14
    Did you uninstall any apps before your first corrective reboot? Maybe 2.1 goes into safe mode when it's overloaded instead of force closing everything non-stop.
     
  5. trav473

    trav473 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    134
    nope, uninstalled lockbot after it came back in safe mode, then rebooted again, safe mode gone, but had to delete all the non-working widgets and put them back on the home screens.
     
  6. sbillard

    sbillard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just observed the same thing on my Hero. The phone had made "power on" sounds (even though I did not knowingly power it off.) When it got done loading it had this "save mode" overlay on the lower left screen. Two widgets did not load--there was a text box in their stead.

    I ended up powering to phone off and back on again. This time it came up "normal" excpet that the two widgets that had not loaded correctly were now not present on the screen at all. I added them back and all is fine now.

    Still, just wondering what happened and what "safe mode" is.
     
  7. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    ive heard of the lock bot pro causing a lot of issues, not this one particularly, but lots of people have complained about it.
     
  8. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    Exact same thing happened to me about a month ago, completely out of the blue. No new apps installed, nothing. It was completely random. A reboot fixed it and I haven't seen it since.
     
  9. TheMortallyWounded

    TheMortallyWounded Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    51
    I had it happen the first day I owned it after installing some task killer. It killed Sense too. I uninstalled it and haven't used a task killer since.

    Generally, any third-party application which is supposed to provide any sort of underlying system control is more likely to cause more problems than it is intended to solve. Just my opinion, and there are a lot of people here knowing more about Android than me who will disagree. There are also a lot of people here who don't tinker with their phones, and it works for them.

    I am a firm believer in the KISS methodology: Keep It Simply Stock. Just like anything in life, if you don't know how it works, it can dangerous. Chances are that a) the application did something you weren't expecting, or b) you poked something that you weren't familiar with and it caused a problem. Don't take that the wrong way; third party developers come out with applications which can do a lot of cool stuff but they seem to just assume that we think the same way they do (intuitively) and that we don't need instructions for anything.

    I don't know what LokBot is, and it doesn't sound like anything I need, so I probably won't ever see it. Anyway, I got off topic there for a while. My suggestion: leave it alone. Safe Mode might be something the aplication did itself, or it migh Android's protection against something the application did (techies, correct me if I am wrong) but in either case, a "WTF" reaction is a good indicator to me that it isn't a normal thing to dismiss.
     
  10. alanb56

    alanb56 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's the solution:
    First, how it happened: Droid X. Got caught in a downpour. The x didn't "get wet" but did accumulate a little moisture. Did all the research, power off, battery pull, etc.etc. Still in Safe Mode, no 3rd party apps.
    Took it to the Verizon store where I got it, although probably any store will do. The guy there scratched his head, said "hmmm," asked me if I did a battery pull, did the battery pull himself, and Safe Mode disappered. All 3rd party apps and all other data sitting there as snug as a bug in a rug.
     

Share This Page

Loading...