• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Samsung Captivate Help Please!

truchamp06

Lurker
Mar 11, 2011
Hi!

Im new to the Andriod market. I had a blackberry, and it just wasnt as spiffy as this lovely phone.

However I am having some issues and questions. I am a complete newbie. I dont understand any of this lingo im reading and if you all could help me out that would be great.

I have a Samsung Captivate from At&t

Here are my questions.

1. How do I do screen shots?
2. How do I get rid of the stock att aps on my phone.
3. How do I get my notifications to pop up. Im having to go into the app like Facebook, Heytell, Words with friends, to actually get the notifications even my gmail. I dont get them in the notifications box.

Those are my top questions. I would also know how to trick my phone out. I want to use it for all I can you know? Thanks in advance!

Audrey

Hi!

Im new to the Andriod market. I had a blackberry, and it just wasnt as spiffy as this lovely phone.

However I am having some issues and questions. I am a complete newbie. I dont understand any of this lingo im reading and if you all could help me out that would be great.

I have a Samsung Captivate from At&t

Here are my questions.

1. How do I do screen shots?
2. How do I get rid of the stock att aps on my phone.
3. How do I get my notifications to pop up. Im having to go into the app like Facebook, Heytell, Words with friends, to actually get the notifications even my gmail. I dont get them in the notifications box.

Those are my top questions. I would also know how to trick my phone out. I want to use it for all I can you know? Thanks in advance!

Audrey

1. need to root, then install shootMe or something similar
2. root, then install titanium backup