Samsung Galaxy S2 Stuck on Edge with TmobileSupport


Last Updated:

  1. jaideep19

    jaideep19 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I purchased a samsung galaxy s2 on ebay. When I put my Tmobile SIM inside all I am getting is EDGE network. I have tried changing all settings but I can't get 3G or 4G network.
    I tested with swapping the SIM out with a friend's ATT sim card and I was able to get on to ATT's 3G network.

    I have a 2 year Tmobile plan and I feel I am stuck. Is there any app or any solution that will help me get onto Tmobile's 3G or 4G network. Being on edge network sucks as you all know :)

    Thanks for your help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    Sounds like the phone only has the 3g bands for AT&T not T-mobile, I don't think you will be able to get 3g or 4g. Sorry
     
  3. Jahmakan

    Jahmakan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    14
    Wolfedude88 is right on the mark; no 1700 MHz UMTS support means only EDGE on T-Mobile.
     
  4. n7plus1

    n7plus1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    ouch
     
  5. jaideep19

    jaideep19 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn...so there is no solution but to switch to ATT. Do you know if 3G will work on Verizon or Sprint?
     
  6. 3waygeek

    3waygeek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    32
    Verizon & Sprint are CDMA, not GSM, so your SGS2 won't work at all on those carriers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...