Samsung Moment NavigationSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ls1ssws6

    ls1ssws6 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just switched from the Palm pre to the samsung moment and love it so far. One thing i dont like though is the navigation, even though they are both sprint navi. the moment is so much slower at getting an adress and routing you to that adress. It wouldnt be that big of a deal for me but like i stated in a different post i am a police officer and came to a new district and am getting to know the area so when a priority job comes out it takes me a while to input the adress and get routed there as with the pre it was pretty much instantanious.

    I really dont want to go out and buy a stand alone navigation so can any of you guys help me. Are there any better apps or upgrades for the navigation?

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Good news/Bad news.
    I think I have heard that Google has a great spoken turn-by-turn navi app... that we won't get to see until they update us to 2.1:(
     
  3. joeykrim

    joeykrim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    there was a system update released for the samsung moment a few weeks ago, CL14. it made significant improvements to the GPS/aGPS on the moment. if your phone hasn't received this update, it would be best to update it.
    if it has already been updated, i'm not sure there is much else you can do. ive read, putting it on the dash under the windshield might give the GPS better reception...
     
  4. ls1ssws6

    ls1ssws6 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    any timeframe?

    i just bought the phone from a guy a few days ago, how can i tell if it has been updated? should i just go into a sprint store?
     
  5. joeykrim

    joeykrim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    go to home->menu->settings->about phone and look for CL14 (newest) at the end of the Baseband version. Previous version was CJ05.

    official time frame for the update to android 2.1 which should support the google maps navigation is 1H2010, before the end of June 2010.
     
  6. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    The gps reciever is weak on this phone, AFAIK no one outside of Samsung knows if its hardware or software. 2.1 might fix things and should add googles turn by turn, but we'll have to wait a couple of months (or more) to find out. The cl14 update fixes agps. It improves google maps, but Sprint nav (telenav) ignores agps data and is unaffected. If turn by turn nav is important to you, you may have the wrong phone. My wife has a Pre and beyond its occassional gps start issues (##411#), its a better navigation device.
     
  7. ls1ssws6

    ls1ssws6 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    baseband version: s:m900.8.os.cj05

    guess ill have to be going to sprint to update.

    yea that is one thing i miss about the pre BUT i like this phone a lot better in all other ways so i may just have to go out and buy a cheap mio navigation unit and use the phone for just the phone for now until google maps does turn by turn.

    The navi works great it just seems to be a lot slower than the pre and when you make a turn it seems to take a lot longer to calculate that you turned and by then you may have missed another turn then have to be rerouted etc etc :rolleyes:
     
  8. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    I've always used the phone nav as a backup to a dedicated gps. It's fine for emergencies, but even a cheapo sub $100 PNA will be faster, louder and easier to use. The reason the nav seems slow on the moment is that it almost never seems to have a good lock on many sats. It sucks that when I had my Touch Pro the gps worked so much better but the screen was too small and the speaker volume too low for it to be useful. With the moment, the screen and speaker are fine but the gps is lacking. I'd love to know why this phone's gps is so insensitive compared to many other smartphones, but I'm not about to take apart mine. I also doubt that Telenav will put much work into improving their android product at this point, with Google throwing in free turn by turn in future andriod releases.
     
  9. dreze88

    dreze88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    33
    The update really helps with the GPS and Navi. I've used Sprint Navi before and after the update and it does seem to work better. I actually never had a problem with the Navi before or since the update. The wife has a Magellan Navi which is awesome, but for me it's the Moment (low budget :) ).
     
  10. ls1ssws6

    ls1ssws6 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    i hear ya, i think the thing that pisses me off most is my girlfriend bought me a nice widescreen mio navi unit about 1 1/2 years ago. The thing was great always on point and i loved it. we moved in september and since then i cant seem to find the damn thing so i could either buy the same one again for 80 bucks or use her mio which has a small screen and i hate or use the moment. So I just hate having to drop money on something i had and cant find. But im gonna go to the sprint store and hopefully the update will help if not ill use her mio until google releases 2.1 or a good turn by turn navi for the moment :rolleyes:

    yea im gonna go get the update today or tomorrow and hope it works better. a buddy of mine has the mytouch and his has turn by turn google :confused: also i noticed where the dedicated gogle search is on his phone he has the little microphone next to it for voice but mine doesnt have that. will that come with the upgrade after i take it to sprint?
     
  11. joeykrim

    joeykrim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    mytouch has android 1.6 where our phone came with android 1.5. i think anything 1.6 and above supports google maps with navigation. once our android system gets upgrade, we should be able to access all the newer versions of the google software which come with the android OS.
     
  12. ls1ssws6

    ls1ssws6 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    so lets put this into perspective...mytouch came out BEFORE the samsung moment and has BETTER/more upgraded software :confused: something doesnt seem right here android get it together lol
     
  13. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    This phone was basically the dejected twin of the Hero for Sprint, as shown by it's lack of advertisement till very recently.(I just saw 2 commercials for the first time ever featuring the moment as the key 'to have' phone)

    We're basically adopting that un-wanted child that was an initial 'mistake'. Now that it's growing up and becoming something nobody thought it could be, the desire for said child is growing, and more people are starting to want one of the same for their own.

    This is my outlook on the subject. If you've bought into it now, or even earlier, you were either just making a choice on a whim (and were going to drop it, many people have) or you were interested in sticking it out with all the problems, which is what most of the members here have done, including myself. The reward in sticking it out is seeing the things that you helped identify get fixed, improved, and in some cases removed for the better. Along with this, you get to say that you were part of the community that helped the phone get it's head up and in the game.


    In short: As of right now, this isn't a bad phone to invest in. It has it's fair share of problems, as is with many new(er) phones. If you have the patience and desire to stick with it, the rewards will come in due time. The choice is yours, make it based on what you want/need, not on what someone pressures you into (A.K.A. Sprint Employees pushing you in one way or another).
     
  14. rey_1178

    rey_1178 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    sprint navi 2.8 is available. anyway to upgrade the navi software on the moment? i was able to do it on my tour but cant find a way to do it on the moment. don't know if it would help either. i just did the cj14 upgrade with sprint and it made no difference with the navigation. still cant find the gps satellites
     
  15. ls1ssws6

    ls1ssws6 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    to me, i love the phone.. OTher than the gps problems but again tis not too big of a deal i have a stand alone unit i can use if need be no big deal. I dont really see any other problems with the phone :)

    i think the camera quality could be better and shutter speed quicker but im just being picky. i love my moment even if it is the red headed step child :p
     
  16. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    I think it has something to do with cdma. The gsm mytouch got 1.6 but the almost identical cdma hero has 1.5. Sooner than later, we'll all have 2.1 and the whole argument will be moot. Of course the hero will probably be a 10 min OTA upgrade while we'll have to search for days or weeks to find a capable tech at some repair center far from home, but at least we have a physical keyboard?:confused::mad:
     
  17. ls1ssws6

    ls1ssws6 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont all repair stores do it?
     
  18. joeykrim

    joeykrim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    technically, yes. realistically, no.
    i would call ahead and ask to talk to the tech. see how many moment's they have applied the maintenance upgrade to. might save everybody some time and energy...
     
  19. ls1ssws6

    ls1ssws6 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh boy this sounds like it should be fun :rolleyes:
     
  20. Cirga

    Cirga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes because new versions of software are always better than older versions.

    I love me some Windows ME, and Windows Vista.

    Just trying to put your statement into perspective.
     
  21. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Don't forget Locale Beta vs full version.
     
  22. drgnswy

    drgnswy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think i want 2 buy a moment but i use gps alot (navigation). does this cl14 update fix the problem or are there still significant delays?i really dont want 2 get a hero but I am just not sure...whats ur guys take on it?
     
  23. Othan1

    Othan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    26
    Dunno but I've never had a problem pre or post update with the Sprint Navigation. I'm in San Diego, so maybe location has something to do with it.
     
  24. edp

    edp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    28
    used mine today, first time trying it after the update. took a minute to get loaded, but once it did, worked like a charm. but i think it makes a big difference to be in a completely open area when first starting it and having it find ur route.
     
  25. ls1ssws6

    ls1ssws6 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    i hear ya...only reason i said that is because it seems like the 1.6 that hero and mytouch have everyone likes and i havent read complaints about it. it just seems like 1.5 but with more features, so i figured it was better. guess i shouldnt have assumed because you know what they say about assuming....lol

    either way i m waiting for 2.0 or 2.1....patiently....
     

Share This Page

Loading...