Samsung Moment Screen Lock Button Doesnt Work!!Support


Last Updated:

  1. NYdroid33

    NYdroid33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay so all of a sudden yesterday the lock button on my Samsung Moment kind of stopped working. When you press the hang up button on the phone, its supposed to lock. If you hold the hang up button it brings up a menu for power off, sounds off and airplane mode.

    For some reason when I press the hang up button to lock the phone, it doesnt work but when I press and hold the hang up button, the menu thats supposed to pop up does.

    If the button semi works I cant see it being a problem with the button. My friend says its a software glitch but it worked fine for months and then all of a sudden yesterday morning it stopped working. I HAVE NOT updated the phone or anything recently.

    Can anyone tell me whats going on and how I can fix this? thanks guys
     

    Advertisement
  2. baylor.rudy

    baylor.rudy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey NYdroid33,
    Have you found the solution to this problem yet? If yes, can you pl. share it? I also have suddenly started to face this issue!
     
  3. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    Are you running 2.1? Are you running stock or a custom ROM?

    It sounds like a hardware issue so may not hurt to take it to Sprint for them to have a look.
     
  4. NYdroid33

    NYdroid33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm running 2.1 and its NOT rooted... I'm going to take it to sprint but just figured id see if anyone on here had similar problems... if anyone can tell me how to fix this id greatly appreciate it
     
  5. gerrym

    gerrym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same thing with me today. Right after the phone did a data lockup. I called a friend and could not hang up. Pulled the battery and now the screen lock does not function. Hold the button long enough and the Power Off menu etc appears. This is maddening... on top of data lockup.

    This was right after I updated WordWise (the little scrabble game). But I removed it and rebooted, and still have the non-functional 'lock' button.

    I have set screen timeout to 8 seconds, that is all I can do. Be patient, wait 8 seconds, the put the phone in my pocket.

    WAPITB. :cool:
     
  6. NYdroid33

    NYdroid33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay so what I think happened was I downloaded somthing or had a data problem

    Since my phone is not rooted I didn't have the luxury of using titanium backup so I synced everything to my gmail, took note of the apps I wanted to keep and backed up my photos and videos to an SD and did a factory reset.

    Works perfectly now
     
  7. gerrym

    gerrym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Someone over in the Sprint Community forum suggested installing an App called 'Spare Parts', since it allows some custom settings for the 'END' button.

    I installed the app, set the END button function for 'sleep'. Now the phone END button 'locks' the screen.

    And... from the Sprint Forum again... suggestion to go ahead and now remove Spare Parts and the END button function will 'stay' correct.

    Yep. Did for me.

    Now what this actually did I don't know, but obviously it rewrote an OS setting that got broken by something else.

    Sheez! :cool:
     
    SoxBsPatsCs likes this.
  8. NYdroid33

    NYdroid33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    thats good to now... Im going to download spare parts onto my phone just in case this happens again... not a fun experience having to wait for your phone to lock itself before putting it back in your pocket
     
  9. eldiablojefe

    eldiablojefe Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had the same thing happen to my Moment, and the above solution works great.
     
  10. SoxBsPatsCs

    SoxBsPatsCs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    AGREED. i have been dealing with this problem for months not knowing what to do to fix it short of trek all the way to the sprint store... came on here as a hunch for 5 minutes... problems solved.... props guys!:D
     
  11. CitationNeeded

    CitationNeeded Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason, this isn't working for me.
    I have a Samsung Moment and I'm experiencing the same problem. I downloaded spare apps and set the End Button to sleep, but still nothing. =/
    Any suggestions?
     
  12. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    37
    Spare Parts didn't work for me, but a power-cycle of the phone did.
     
  13. CitationNeeded

    CitationNeeded Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Power-cycling only worked for me temporarily. It goes back to doing the same thing.
     
  14. Kindie75

    Kindie75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    13
    I used spare parts app and it worked for me. I had to restart my phone after i installed the app and changed the setting for it to work.
     
  15. BrettDroid

    BrettDroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Samsung Moment, model SPH-M900, Sprint Network, V2.1update1, kernal v2.6.29, build ECLAIR.DI06, Hardware v M900.8.0


    Frustrated.

    Problem started for me about 10 days ago, maybe more, if I happened to be using the device right before the glitch, it was displaying very weird behavior. Clicking the END button did nothing but darken the screen, any other buttons would turn back on the screen, not just END. This would occur and I'd need to reboot my phone(power off, turn back on), a few times a day for a few days.

    -> Uninstalled a bunch of apps, problem persists.
    -> Completed FACTORY RESTORE (meh, no biggie) and installed like two apps ATK and some other junk, problem persists
    -> Completed Factory Restore again, zero outside application installed, only gmail account setup, no email, no nothin, problem persists
    -> Discovered spare parts, installed, this seemed to help initially, when it glitches only the END button will now "re-light" the screen, but the issue seems to persist at least once daily, of course phone restart fixes until tomorrow

    And here is where its going to sound stupid..it seems maybe the last few days the glitch occurs at about the same time of day, 5:45pm Local time, unless I'm insane (wife says I am anyhow). I have a few alarms set for Mon-Friday 5:45am, 6am, 6:15am, probably zero correlation, dumb, I know.

    Anyway, just wanted to see if anyone had any other ideas on what to try and just wanted to say that complete factory restore with zero applications did not fix the issue for me. I have not visited the Sprint store yet, that's really not fun.


    Thanks for letting me gripe here,

    Brett
     
  16. Kindie75

    Kindie75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    13
    I thought that the "END" button is the only button that is supposed to relight the screen.
     
  17. BrettDroid

    BrettDroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    IIRC, before i installed spare parts, at few of the glitches other buttons would re-light my screen. I wasn't paying close enough attention to say if it was 100% consistent.
     
  18. KyLeZKooL12

    KyLeZKooL12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    same prob with me. a power cycle works for about 2 locks. spare parts worked for about a half an hour. i have a lock code on my phone becuse i dont want people looking at my stuff. so if anyones got a fix it would be nice. i might stop at the sprint store but i dont realy want to. ill inform if i find anything.
     
  19. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    DIo6 appears to have caused this. Hope the next maintenance release fixes this issue. Or you cna flach back to a prior version of de03. I wish someone would merge the six different threads on this into one slide to unlock issue thread.
     
    tfinke78 likes this.
  20. tfinke78

    tfinke78 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. This is what the "moment subject matter" Sprint Tech support mentioned to me today. He suggested going to Sprint Store to get them to apply the patch that should correct the lock issue. He couldn't push the patch to me through the network.
    The less then helpful Sprint first line support tech said Samsung send the update that caused the problems and they can't monitor that.
     
  21. K-Rizzle

    K-Rizzle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    20
    I had the same issues a while bac, did a search here on the forum for an answer. This is what worked for me:

    Settings>About Phone>System Updates>Update Profile

    Hope that helps! :)
     
    tfinke78 likes this.
  22. tfinke78

    tfinke78 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    K-R
    I spoke to Samsung tech this afternoon and she stated the patch from Oct 6th should help. I followed the same path you suggest but did an update to PRL and then the Update Firmware downloaded the D106 patch. So far it has seems to be holding the slilde lock function even after I rec'd calls which used to cause the slide lock to be disabled. I also followed your suggestion on the profile update.
    Thanks
     
  23. KyLeZKooL12

    KyLeZKooL12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i do that?
     
  24. lilwetduckie

    lilwetduckie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I am not the only one to have had a problem with this! I had my problem start out as I would unlock my phone, go to check my notifications and it would lock on me... everytime. I ended up having to go from my home screen to my left or right screen and then bring down my notifications bar. It got to be annoying. My husband called Sprint for a problem with his phone and told him how to check for his system updates and he updated my phone as well, thinking that would help, well it stopped locking on me when I would check my notifs but then it stopped locking all together. I got a bit frustrated and took it to Sprint after it was doing this for a day or two and he did a complete restore and figured that might fix it. As I was leaving, I went to check my phone and try to lock it... nothing. They ordered me a new one and it works perfectly now. :D Plus it isn't as dinged up as my old one.
     
  25. kberringtn

    kberringtn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Latin,

    how can I go back to the previous version? I see it suggested, but can't find how to do it.

    thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...