Samsung Moment troubles, HELP PLEASE.Support


Last Updated:

  1. ShawnPaulBradenCouch

    ShawnPaulBradenCouch New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Forum!

    Alright, here is my sitch. Not but three days ago I had purchased a Samsung Moment with Sprint. I LOVED the phone. I had trouble finding things I did not like. HOWEVER. after two days I go to turn my phone on and it gets jammed on the flashing Android screen. (deleted language).

    I look online and find no way to hard reset, so I return to the store and replace it with an entirely new phone. Later that day, I was curious if the same problem would happen again, and lo and behold. Stuck on the Android start up screen.

    Due to my frustrations i figured this would be a horrible investment, especially since i am supposed to own this phone for two years, and gave in returning it for the hero.

    HOWEVER, I still want the Moment, I liked the interface more and liked the keyboard. Was wondering if someone could explain to me why this happened TWICE with different phones. And if there was any way to avoid it. I am still in the 30 day grace period to replace it, so i need to make a decision soon.

    The only thing i can think of is that I consistently downloaded apps that did not work with the moment and bricked it.

    The only ones I had both times was

    PandaHome,

    along with some sort of task killer/manager.

    Advanced Task Manager with the first phone,

    and an assortment of task killers with the second phone. (I was exploring them to see which one i liked)

    Is there a way around this? I thoroughly loved the moment, and want to switch back, but don't want to be concerned that its going to brick a month from now and i won't be able to return it.

    Sorry for diatribe, PLEASE HELP.
     

    Advertisement
  2. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
  3. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    5,032
    Welcome to AF,

    Moving thread to appropriate section.

    TS
     
  4. jebrank

    jebrank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    4
    Were you low on battery? That happens on mine with I am low. (near Dead)
     
  5. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    Do not install latest version of pandahome. I bricked a moment with it. My moment was stuck at android screen too. I m sticking with stock until they fix this. Samsung needs to give us a way to hard reset the phone when not in os.
     
  6. angelluis73

    angelluis73 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not just Pandahome that causes the problem, you need to have the right(wrong) theme to cause this to happen. I have two Moment phones with Pandahome installed, my wife added the Flying Dandelion theme, I was using the default theme. Hers was bricked and we returned it to sprint. Got home and installed all the same programs including the themes and it happened again. I re-flashed the phone myself and did not install any of the themes she used and it is fine now and going on five days.
     
  7. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    How u reflash it yourself?. Also I was using pandahome default theme also when it bricked.
     
  8. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    If you went to the Hero, you are stuck with the Hero. You are only given one time to switch.....officially.....obviously, if you can work a deal then go for it. But the official gig is that you only get one "switchout".
     
  9. angelluis73

    angelluis73 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    This is not true.
     
  11. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    25
    I was speaking to a Sprint Store employee over the weekend while I was at the mall. He happens to also have the Moment, so we were talking about our phones.

    During the course of the conversation, he told me not to install Panda Home because it had bricked his phone.

    -SF
     
  12. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. masbirdies

    masbirdies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im running Open Home and it is great! love it....never tried PANDAHOME!
     
  14. MikeS

    MikeS Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had panda home but it just ran too slow. I am trying dxTop now. It has a slide to unlock screen feature that is kinda neat. I have only been running it for about 30 minutes. Does anyone know how to pick a different home application if you set an alternate home to the default?
     
  15. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    Where can you get dxTop on the market? I'm searching for it and can find nothign but themes. is it free?
     
  16. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    YOUR PHONES ARE not bricked THEY EXPIRENCED A boot-loop ,,,, usually with the G1 you can to to recovery and just reflash , saving all your data , but samsung has hidden everything ,,, so far all we found was a way to fully wipe , n so loosing all your data . BUT yea the phones are not BRICKED..... PLEASE stop saying that ........ Bricked IS WHEN YOU CAN'T ACCESS RECOVERY OR FASTBOOT ,,, then your screwed ..Also because of all the security samsung put in place if you are not rooted and you download a app that requires root and will also run on start up , it will cause the bootloop when you restart ,because that app will try to change the uid's or permissions and the system won't allow it . SO check that the apps don't require root or it won't run on boot and you will be OK ,.,....,.,.,.,,.
     
  17. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    32
    So there is a way to flash the Moment with a factory image. Taking the phone back to the way it was when it was purchased. Instructions can be found here.
     
  18. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    I've heard of people going back and forth with phones four times in the first 30 days!
     
  19. tmax21

    tmax21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I asked a Sprint store rep specifically about this after getting my Moment. Says that you are allowed to switch phones up to 3 times during the 30 days, however, there is a restocking fee for each time you do so. Definitely false about only a one time swap.
     
  20. Robalboa

    Robalboa New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have had the moment for about 8 months and recently my phone would be very laggy and if i restarted the phone it would loop the startup screen for hours. This is how i fixed it.

    The problem came from a launcher app actually launcher pro beta (ITs the best) I got my phone to stop the loop by leaving it off and charging for about 10 mins (I know it seems that it would work sooner but it wont wait ten minutes with the phone off and charging)

    next unplug the charger. give it about 10 secs then power up the phone. after it loads and starts delete the launcher app(also known as market home apps) whichever one you installed abd the problem will be gone. The launcher or home type apps that give us more homes screens etc they r the problem
    If we give it a week or 2 they may fix the issue but thats what the problem is
    UIDS
    Hope this works for you there are no bricks
     
    doboy4922 likes this.
  21. mrmojoz

    mrmojoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    63
    7 month old thread, I imagine the issue is moot at this point.
     
  22. doboy4922

    doboy4922 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the post! it seems that laucher pro plus did the same thing when i updated it to its 7.6 version. your solution seems to have fixed for time being.
     
  23. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    It would be better and probably more helpful to others if this were its own thread as opposed to a responce to a 7 month old question.
     

Share This Page

Loading...