Samsung posts a FAQ for sideloading Apps on Captivate


Last Updated:

  1. CamaroZ28

    CamaroZ28 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2

    Advertisement
    Endoran and fearitself like this.
  2. t-readyroc

    t-readyroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    80
    Wow... that's crazy. Wonder what it says about the relationship between Samsung & AT&T..?
     
  3. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    side load wonder machine is way easier and doesnt require root either. Samsung actually gave you a much harder method lol

    but its kinda cool they are telling people they can do it.
     
  4. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    agreed. I like that Samsung is giving a big F&$* you to att. someone needs to wake them up.
     
  5. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
  6. CamaroZ28

    CamaroZ28 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    I never said anything about this being a easier or harder method. Simply wanted to let people know that Samsung seems to have no regard for AT&T not wanting you to sideload.

    Besides, to me this is just as easy as the wonder machine thing because I'm used to working with CMD. The things Samsung asks you to download are just drivers and some development kits. For anyone familiar with working with this stuff, its not difficult at all.
     
  7. pr0virus

    pr0virus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    I dont think Att minds. They just dont want dumb people sideloading stupid stuff to mess up their phones. If your searching enough to know the terms to look for, then you probably know what your getting into and dont need ATTs tech support to save your ass.
     
  8. Aftashok

    Aftashok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    nothing.... AT&T blocks sideloading to prevent people messing up their phones and them being responsible for insurance claims. if you at a later time figure out how to sideload and do something to your phone, AT&T cant be held responsible for that then.
     
  9. JEF81

    JEF81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    nube here...am rooted and am trying to load Titanium backup and saw the instructions below. I am not sure how to "open a shell." Please help!


    • Yes the setting exists but Samsung hides it from the UI.
    • Here is how you can enable it. Be careful about single vs double quotes. Open a shell and then do:
    • su
    • First we can read the setting. A result of 0 means it's disabled:
    • /data/data/com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup/files/sqlite3 /dbdata/databases/com.android.providers.settings/settings.db "SELECT value FROM secure WHERE name = 'install_non_market_apps'"
    • Ok, so now let's enable the setting:
    • /data/data/com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup/files/sqlite3 /dbdata/databases/com.android.providers.settings/settings.db "UPDATE secure SET value = 1 WHERE name = 'install_non_market_apps'"
    • Done! Now it shall work, and (as a bonus) you can also install apps manually by opening ".apk" files ;-)
     
  10. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks man for posting this; interesting bit of information that I wouldn't have known otherwise!
     

Share This Page

Loading...