Samsung Prevail and mods


Last Updated:

  1. chrisinsocalif

    chrisinsocalif Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    45
    I have boost mobile and will be purchasing the Samsung Prevail. Do lower end smart phones like the prevail get attention from 3rd party firmware mods such as cyanogenmod?
     

    Advertisement
  2. MarkMcCoskey

    MarkMcCoskey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm certainly hoping so. I've recently inquired on Cyanogen's and XDA's sites. Now that it is released, hopefully interest will build. $180 phone, with $50 Unlimited plan, that goes down to $35, should get lots of attention. Otherwise, I'll be looking at Virgin Mobiles LG Optimus V, with their $40 plan, which is getting flashing attention (aospCMod).
     
  3. chrisinsocalif

    chrisinsocalif Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    45
    I tried to pick up the phone on friday when it was released and was only available on Boost's website for 30 minutes and not found in any stores. I sure hope they dont mark up the price of the phone when they get the new shipment. When i bought my last Boost mobile phone, it was listed under 200 dollars on the boost website but Radioshack market it up around 60 dollars.
     
  4. apoint8longs

    apoint8longs New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    im from mass. the phone will be released at best buy on may 15th. i was one of the people to get the phone in the 30 min boost mobile meltdown...lol. i really like the phone compared to the bb 8530
     
  5. newbytodroid

    newbytodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    22

    If you are able to find someone to port over Cm6 or Cm7 you should have no problems. I am on metro pcs Ascend $100 and Im running cm7:D
     
  6. BrownLeopard

    BrownLeopard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got mine in the second wave of meltdowns. It's an awesome phone!
     
  7. DroidBabe

    DroidBabe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    8
    I'm curious about this phone. It looks nice. I've seen it at best Buy.

    Are the rumors true?? That there is no Flash on this phone? If so then I'll pass...
     
  8. chrisinsocalif

    chrisinsocalif Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    45
    You can install flash, but there isn't enough memory on the phone to run it efficiently. I constantly had a low memory indicator on the upper left corner of the phone. It's a great phone for the price, but if you want to run flash and other programs efficiently, its probably best to buy a better phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...