Samsung s2 crashes repeatedly after updateSupport

1. wurlyvalve

wurlyvalve Member

Hi, I'm very new to this. this is my first smart phone, and up until two weeks ago i could just about live with it. However, it performed an auto update and loaded some new software, ever since it has become unusable. It crashes, on average, ten to twenty times a day. Things that i can guarantee cause it too crash include: my genuine Samsung car dock, Facebook messenger, accuweather, bubble defense (which was installed for me during the update). Is this a known problem? Might there be something wrong with my phone? am I supposed to do something after each update to make my phone work properly that i haven't been told about?

Many thanks,
    Glen.

Samsung galaxy s2, Tesco module (o2)

Advertisement
    :
  2. Shotgun84

Shotgun84 Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum wurlyvalve and thanks for joining.

Sometimes after a firmware update remnants from the old firmware can interfere with the new. A factory reset of your phone should remove all traces of the old firmware and should solve the problem.
  3. wurlyvalve

wurlyvalve Member

Ok, cool. How do i do that? Will i lose all my settings? Only i have found the phone to be overtly complicated for me to use so far, and the thought of having till go through everything again to get things working fills me with fear. Would i not be better of disabling updates rather then having to go through all of this again?

Many thanks,
    Glen.
  4. Shotgun84

Sorry, did I misread your question? Was it an app which auto updated or was it a full system update of your phone? If it was just an app with any luck removing said app will solve your problems.
  5. wurlyvalve

wurlyvalve Member

No, the phone upgraded its firmware but also it installed some new apps of its own accord _ not all of which actually work!
  6. Shotgun84