• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Samsung Tab 10.1 is slow lags

Just bought a Samsung tab 10.1 for my family last Christmas. For the first 6 weeks, it was running great. We primarily use it for entertainment for kids, which means we have downloaded a few free games and insert an micro SD card for movies. Over the past week it has started to lag severely.

I removed a few of the games we had, but it still runs very slow.

Under the application manager, it shows I have used 2.0 GB with 9.9 GB free. under the running tab, it shows 742 mb of RAM used, with 1.2mb free.

Under the data usage tab, I have noticed a big increase in the past week. The highest usage comes from exchange services and Facebook.

Any suggestions? I am not very tech savvy...just want a smooth tablet for the family.

Thanks

Just bought a Samsung tab 10.1 for my family last Christmas. For the first 6 weeks, it was running great. We primarily use it for entertainment for kids, which means we have downloaded a few free games and insert an micro SD card for movies. Over the past week it has started to lag severely.

I removed a few of the games we had, but it still runs very slow.

Under the application manager, it shows I have used 2.0 GB with 9.9 GB free. under the running tab, it shows 742 mb of RAM used, with 1.2mb free.

Under the data usage tab, I have noticed a big increase in the past week. The highest usage comes from exchange services and Facebook.

Any suggestions? I am not very tech savvy...just want a smooth tablet for the family.

Thanks

Welcome to the forums, Larry.

Yep, you've got a bit of maintenance to do now and then when media is involved, new games and apps etc.

In the menu for "application manager" you can select each downloaded item one at a time and hit the "clear cache" button. If you hit "clear data" you will have to start over with that app/game, though.