Samsung vibrant qustion! Honest anwsers!


Last Updated:

  1. bigg12x

    bigg12x Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey been up to date on reading on bugs of vibrant and all. im hearing reciption problems with bars of signal on th vibrant played with the demo in the store it seemed fine? is there a real problem if not ill get the nexus but i love the vibrant also gps, facebook sync and ringer problems? are these real?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ObsceneJesster

    ObsceneJesster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've had the phone since launch day and haven't dropped a single call yet. If I wrap my hand along the bottom of the phone I drop 1 to 2 bars. It's weird and I can't explain it but when I deathgrip the phone my data speeds actually increase. I never had any of the GPS issues that others are talking about. I went to the beach over the weekend and drove 350 miles round trip. I used Google Maps on the way down and Tel-Nav on the way home. I kept a GPS signal the entire time.
     
  3. Puraw Wave

    Puraw Wave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Since I got the phone a week ago I haven't had any reception issues. Sometimes looks like the bars drop low, but I can still make calls, so I'm happy enough. I've also not had GPS problems yet; I can get GPS fix indoors which I could not on my old Behold 2.

    I haven't had ringer problems, although it'd be nice if text messages vibrate notification worked only in vibrate mode instead of having to set it to vibrate all the time. And I honestly haven't tried the Facebook sync since I'm fine with the Facebook app for now.
     
  4. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    I've seen it too, but think we are all overly sensitive since the iphone thing. The thing is, the antenna is located by the volume rocker, you can tell because it looks like its a separate component compared to the rest. Also to tear down of the Galaxy S shows its the same shape.
     
  5. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    I've read the Iphone shows bars where it shouldn't or more bars where there is actually less reception. This phone is the opposite. It shows less bars than there are. I haven't dropped any more calls than I did on my previous phones and I still have reception in my normal locations. My phone though often says I have no bars or only 1. It lies LOL. But even though it says I have no bars, my reception is fine.
     
  6. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Oh, and Nexus1 is no longer for sale on google.
     
  7. bigg12x

    bigg12x Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea thanks guys i just wanted a perfect andriod phone since im switching from metro pcs to tmobile u know lol big step up. i can find nexus on craiglist so i should be good i just dont know which one to get... hard choice :confused:
     
  8. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    Not to be rude, but don't you think this question has been answered multiple times on these forums alone?

    How many new threads do we need about the same topic? This is starting to look like the Behold II section. :rolleyes:
     
  9. QwertyBlog

    QwertyBlog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    I haven't had any reception problems on my Vibrant. Try exchanging it for a different device.
     
  10. bigg12x

    bigg12x Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok gotcha ya.. the nexus one batter is 1400 and vibrant is 1500 so i know that battery life if not the same will be a little better might just go with the vibrant hopefully.
     
  11. ObsceneJesster

    ObsceneJesster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    With out a doubt, the Vibrant's battery last alot longer than the Nexus. The Snapdragon is a power hog and the Super Amoled uses less power than a Amoled.
     
  12. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    I have had NO reception problems at all, and in fact have 5 bars of reception almost all of the time.
     
  13. WxAxGxS

    WxAxGxS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    I haven't had any reception problems when it comes to calling, but short of being in a wide open field, I am rarely able to access any data-related features. My office is on the top floor of my building about a mile outside downtown Minneapolis and I'm lucky to get a -110 dBm and 1-4 ASU signal on GPRS. I get less than that at home. Again, no problem with phone calls, but data is a lost cause...
     
  14. Nickk

    Nickk Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    12
    I finally got my phone connected to wifi in my house. The damn thing would drop to edge 50% of the time it seemed. I am actually contemplating on returning this phone to t mobile before my 14 days are up and then jumping around with both the 30 days at&t and verizon until the EPIC 4G is released with sprint.
     
  15. bigg12x

    bigg12x Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow all is good so i guess i really might end up getting ti tomorrow! i played with the phone man i like it u know its a little differnt only thing i was worried about was signal display whic hseemed to 75% of the web as DEATH GRIP ha i dont know uabout it but it seems its b.s.
     
  16. S4A

    S4A Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have only one real problem with Vibrant which will most probably lead me to exchange it after i will do the "pure experiment" and run the speedtest dot net test in the T-Mobile shop tomorrow: i have substantially smaller download speed compared to upload speed.

    Which is indicative of faulty 3g radio. Though i've seen also equal DL/UL test results but mostly DL is smaller. And is smaller then with other brands. But i need the last, pure experiment. Three employees of T-mobile have their own Vibrants and we will compare them.

    I've seen today whopping 5.2Mbps /1.3Mbps DL/UL in some areas while driving. I almost hit the cars around when seen that for first time. Fun is this city is not yet listed for near future HSPA+ upgrade.

    All my latest three phones of different brands and networks (HD2/EVO and Vibrant) this year are faulty. Companies just do not test them in this smart phone gold rush.
     
  17. ObsceneJesster

    ObsceneJesster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    I know exactly what you mean. I am running the speedtest.net app like 6 times a day in different areas and I sometimes get (500 kb/s DL and 1300 kb/s UL). This is the same results I have gotten with my past 3 phones (MyTouch 3G, Nexus One and my wifes MyTouch Slide). I have chalked it up to being a T-Mobile thing although sometimes when I only get 200 kb/s download speeds , the speed of my web browsing tells a different story. I have started relying less on the speedtest.net app.
     
  18. 03machme

    03machme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    15
    yea same here it will say i have few bars but i get fine data and voice reception
     
  19. hej

    hej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My phone does display significantly lost reception when 'death gripping' it. However on a hunch I conducted an experiment at work where my cube is in a particularly bad dead zone. When death gripping it, the phone reports 0db signal strength in my cube. Easily and consistently reproducible. However, in this state I can still make calls to my extension, with perfectly good call quality. I can also get between 600k to 1mbs data speeds on the Speedtest.net application.

    Like the iPhone, the Vibrant apparently has some sort of bug related to the reported signal strength.
     
  20. bigg12x

    bigg12x Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    so an update can fix the bar situation with the battery scale?:confused:
     
  21. Markdek

    Markdek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here is comes..........Free Cases...:)
     
  22. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    LOL That would be awesome, if I hadn't already purchased 2... :p
     
  23. bigg12x

    bigg12x Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol @ free cases. Smh @ how smasung diddnt even address the problem and how they will take care of it. Jesus man
     
  24. seafaring_soul

    seafaring_soul New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    im on my second vibrant. I brought the first one back due to terrible reception problems. Nearly every call I made was dropped, the gps would never find me, and I was on edge network most of the time. I live in the suburbs of chicago, and I dont think this terrible service is acceptable. They keep trying to tell me its service issues in the area...but I upgraded from my old G1 which never had reception issues or even a dropped call...and Im using it in all the same areas. As an experiment, I took my sim out of the Vibrant and put it back into my G1 for about 6 hours yesterday...and the reception was perfect, and gps found me instantly. At this point im not sure what to do. I love the phone, but I cant deal with the reception problems, as it is clearly something with the phone and not with the service. I am hoping its a software issue that gets addressed in the next update...but since Tmobile wont acknowledge that the phone has any problems...im getting a little weary and thinking the safest thing to do is take it back.
     
  25. fujitsujeff

    fujitsujeff Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No reception issues ... bars on signal fluctuate, but not a big deal, yes their is problem with GPS, yes their is a problem with facebook sync, no to ringer problems. Really only 2 problems, 1 seems to be on facebooks end, the other samsungs end. GPS is main GRIPE as i use FB sync to update my contacts, and the actual facebook and twitter apps for everything else, but GPS NEEDS A FIX! Definitely not reliable when traveling ...
     

Share This Page

Loading...