Samsung Vibrant unable to download Apps from MarketSupport

Last Updated:

1. MoeVibrant

MoeVibrant Member This Topic's Starter

All,

I bought a used Samsung Vibrant yesterday with Android OS on it. My carrier is T-mobile and using T-Zones as my data plan.

I am having a hard time downloading apps in the Market app using WiFi. My google email address in the phone is listed as gmail.com and I am also receiving emails on my phone.

However when I go to Market app to dload and and install apps, it just gets stuck on the Starting Download. I don't know whats the problem? I've read other forums and I don't know what to do first.

Please help me out if there is a possible solution to this, because I am new to using the Android OS. Thanks!

Moe

Advertisement
  2. ciara_belle

ciara_belle New Member

i have the same issue - i can only download on data plan.. wifi just sticks at 'starting download'
    also i cannot login to google talk from wi fi - just data plan...
    which is extremely slow (we have only g here).

i even tested by having the downloads finally running (on data) and switching on wi-fi - bam it paused them all...

not fun.. any ideas?

i have seen bandied about about various ports that may need to be open on your router - but nothing from google themselves helping for this.

(i don't use google talk - was just seeing it was ts step in connection to google/market).

very frustrating
    android 2.1/1
    vibrant.
    fresh install

3. MoeVibrant

Hey Ciara_Belle,

I actually fixed my issue, and I'll do my best to help you out.

First off, check and see if you can download your market apps from other Open WiFi connections. I notice several times that other open WiFi connections i.e. cafes, bowling alleys, etc will download my market apps immediately. Hence, I knew it was my router at home which was causing the issue.