Save Route after driving different than suggested


Last Updated:

  1. PittCaleb

    PittCaleb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    There's a route I take to my sisters place that is different than the Droid would have me drive. I swear I read or a friend told me there is a "save route" feature that once you finish driving your way, you can select which will help force it to take you that way in the future.

    I can't find this, if it exists. No other GPS I've owned have had this feature, and I've often lamented, "wouldn't it be nice if it *knew* I wanted to take this road over that one." Only asking 'cause someone once told me this might be a feature. Am I way off or am I blind to finding it?

    PittCaleb
     

    Advertisement
  2. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not that I'm aware of. But, I have to ask...why would you need this? I mean, if you *know* the route you are taking, why do you need the navigation software at all? You already know where you're going, right?
     
  3. PittCaleb

    PittCaleb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just this one example of course --- my sister lives in Philly, we come from the NYC Metro area. The GPS routes us a decent way to her house, but we spend probably 30 minutes making the last 5 miles through bad city traffic.

    I recently learned, by sheer accident, a very different route that is maybe 3-5 miles longer, but we're literally on highway the entire trip. We keep forgetting to get off the highway early however and end up taking the GPS-route (the same route my 3 other nav GPS have told us to use for the past many years).

    You have a point, but if we could tell it that from Point A to Point B, we would like to go this alternate route, it could then use that segment on routes encompassing the same general routes. The Droid has a very poor way of getting us home, but since it's getting to our place, we do know to disobey the computer and go the 'right' way.

    In MI, we swear a road was mis-labeled as being 10 MPH faster as the GPS' would always want to route us on a parallel but out of the way road. Believe it or not, when you just punch in an address or location, one often just heads out not realizing the GPS has sent them 5-10 mins out of the way until it's too late.

    PittCaleb
     
  4. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    I haven't tried it myself, but perhaps you can set waypoints or an in-between destination that is on that alternate route so it has to take to those roads?
     
  5. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know if this is option you want......but you can easily do this on a regular computer....save it under My maps and access it from your phone under starred maps
     
  6. PittCaleb

    PittCaleb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    OK, two questions then:

    1) How do you insert a via-point? This is something I used a LOT on my old Nav GPS, but have yet to figure out on the Droid

    2) How can I create a route on-line, then access via Droid. Please go through the steps.

    Thanks in advance all,
    PittCaleb
     
  7. PittCaleb

    PittCaleb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Poked around with "My Maps" in Google - modified a route, 'saved' it and all - went to open it on the Droid and it told me the map was unusable due to "an error in route" - argh...
     
  8. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes sorry....not Starred maps.....but My Maps...

    I too got the error....but then I opened a few of my previously saved maps and they opened fine....so I opened my latest saved map again and this time it opened fine.

    If you want to 'record' a route that you drive....Use 'My tracks'....by google. You can record.....then save to my maps.....then access it from My maps in google maps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...