Screen cracked, replacement phone coming - backup apps and contacts!Support


Last Updated:

  1. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    Hey all, the D-Inc i have now has lasted me since launch day (which is a long time for me, trust me).

    My phone took a tumble down the stairs and screen cracked in a lot of places, but still usable.

    Should i backup all my apps using astro ? Also, all my contacts are phone contacts, not gmail contacts, will HTC sync application help me backup my contacts and restore them? I haven't replaced an HTC phone yet so please forgive my innocence. I'm a converted BB user and now never going back to anything but Droid. Also, will i be receiving LCD screen instead AMOLED screen? Is that the rumor ?

    I do have insurance, i'm sure it will cost me more than 50 bucks to replace it. Prob 100$ right?
     

    Advertisement
  2. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    140
    As a guide it is your responsibility to know



    PICS OR IT DIDN'T HAPPEN.
     
  3. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    I would use a backup utility for all your contacts and such. HTC Sync isn't 100% unfortunately, and it's always better to have two backups, just in case one fails.

    There is no LCD screen for the Incredible, so you will be getting an AMOLED. I'd be interested to see if it shipped with 2.2 though ;-)
     
  4. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    Agreed, This is more of a discussion on conserving phone contacts and applications over showing a cracked display. This is not a 2 day old phone :) We are talking a 4 month old phone, it wouldn't interest you anyway :)
     
  5. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    That's what i was thinking Necosino! I just went through the assurion online process and it took me 2 seconds to get a next day replacement. It was 89$ and it's going to be shipped to my work. I have a feeling it will be a refurb, but I will make sure to post the results just in case it actually is brand new and does come with 2.2 ! I'm going to use Astro and i'll find another backup Util to backup my contacts. I could also sign up for backup assistant for 1 month and then turn it off. that would truly be the easiest way.
     
  6. BetaMan

    BetaMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    55
    If rooted, use the NAND backup through the recovery menu.
    I use "My Backup" from the market to do a total backup every day at 4:00 a.m.

    It works great! I just used it after I installed Froyo.

    Sorry to hear about your issue though. I'd be lost without my DInc.
     
  7. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    146
    Baackup assistant is free now (at least it is included with the smartphone service). Just double checked on VZW website to be sure.
     
  8. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    Yep, it is free now. Just checked too. I just have it under accounts and Sync, i dont have the actual application though. I wonder if that's all i need. I'll did a sync, but it didnt tell me how many contacts I backed up or anything, so i'm wondering if i need to go to verizon market and actually download the full app and not just the Sync
     
  9. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    146
    Free is not always better, I guess. While I was on the 'backup assistant' website @ vzw, I noticed it only showed three contacts of my probably 300-400. I guess the bulk of mine are on Google/G-mail so maybe those are the only ones that are physically on the phone?

    Pretty lame as it wouldn't help much if I decided to move to a different platform one day.
     
  10. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    146
    When I logon at verizonwireless.com, below my phone it has a little ad abuot backup assistant. Clicking on 'learn more' takes you to your sync'd contacts. It apparently only syncs those that are stored on the phone itself. Those on google will show up as soon as you sign in on the phone.

    What are you using to backup apps? Once I get my 2.2 OTA, I was thinking of backing everything up and starting fresh...or is that unneccessary?

    Edit: yes that is all you need. Just use the backup assistant installed on the phone and it should work (at least as described above!).
     
  11. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    140
    Agree and disagree.
    I couldnt help you.
    Im the guy on the freeway you curse that slows down to see the results of an accident.
     
  12. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    Lol. I'm the guy that would curse at you, then do the same thing !
     
  13. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    Yes, i believe backup assistant is only going to backup what's physically stored on your phone. It won't go out and backup your synced contacts on gmail because while they are on your phone, they are in your cache as apposed to your actual phone contacts, which are in your phone directly .
     
  14. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    Hey Ckelly, I'm using Astro File manager to back up all installed applications. Then when I get my new phone, since Astro backed them all up to the SD card, I'm going to reinstall Astro and then reinstall all my apps. So the only app I'll need when i get the new phone is Astro, and it will then look at my SD card and restore the rest. Astro is great, and I've backed up my contacts via backup Assistant and I've checked online and they are all there. I don't sync with Google so since my contacts are all on my phone I have all my contacts on BackupAssistant. So it's perfect for me.

    I don't think you need to do a wipe unless you truly believe you have a lot of garbage files or files from removed applications, cache, and other types of things, but Droid has a good operation in terms of what files to use or not use, so wiping and starting fresh is really up to the individual.
     
  15. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    I received new phone today. I did not hear the DROID sound, or see the new droid animation on boot, so i'm assuming it has 2.1

    I can't update the phone with the RUU, because it wants me to activate the phone by going through a setup process. I'm not ready to do that yet. I thought i'd atleast be able to get to the phone menu without having to activate it, but the first option once you start up the phone is activate, and you can't get around it. I guess I can't really do anything with it until it's activated

    Nevermind, here is a quick image to get around the activation.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  16. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    1,542
    As a guide, its your responsibility to know.. how to post in the correct subforum:p

    Moving this to Support for you.
     
  17. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    Lol, i was not a guide at the creation of the thread, but I have now found my way! :) :D
     
  18. jtcarnes

    jtcarnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Why not just nandroid the broken phone, switch SD from old phone to new, and then restore on the new one?
     

Share This Page

Loading...